R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 1 » Chris Squire - 1975 - Fish Out Of Water
    Chris Squire - 1975 - Fish Out Of Water
    Chris Squire - 1975 - Fish Out Of Watergenre: prog
    country: uk
    quality : lossless (ape, cue, log, scans)
    time: 42'43" size: 268 mb

    From ProgressiveRock :
    Yes bassist Chris Squires' lone solo album was the first to appear after Yes took their sabbatical after the Relayer album to do a major rethink. That each member recorded an album worthy of release on Atlantic Records is of course another matter, but judged on this record alone, it was a great idea! Squire put together a great band, including ex-Yes member Bill Bruford and almost ex-Yes member Patrick Moraz, and noted session players Mel Collins and Jimmy Hastings. In addition to piano duites, Andrew Pryce Jackman also provided the lucisous orchestral arrangements. Jackman was previously in Squire's late sixties psychedelic outfit the Syn. Squire himself took on all guitar duties, his distinctive bass obviously to the fore. He also handled all vocal duties. The album contains the same majesty of Yes, with the added distinction of not sounding like Yes at all! The energetic melody and pipe organ of "Hold Out Your Hand" presage "Parallels" from the next Yes album, while "You by My Side" is similarly melodic. Both feature a huge bass line straight down the middle. Jackman's arrangements meld each piece together, giving the side fluidity not found in even the best Yes efforts. Moraz lends a hand (or two) to the instrumental section of the next track, "Silently Falling". Squire's twelve-string sends the ending section into a hypnotic refrain. "Lucky Seven" has the simplicity of Fragile's best moments. Squire's bass soars over Bruford’s deft rhythm and Jackman's chiming electric piano. "Safe (Canon Song)" again goes for the symphonic, repeating an even longer fade than on the first side. The album was moderately successful, charting on both sides of the Atlantic (as did most of the solo albums). Yes' record-breaking tour in the summer of 1976 would feature live renditions from each members solo albums. But Squire would stick to Yes; this would remain his only solo record.

    1. Hold Out Your Hand (4:13)
    2. You By My Side (4:59)
    3. Silently Falling (11:26)
    4. Lucky Seven (6:54)
    5. Safe (Canon Song) (14:56)

    Chris Squire – bass, vocals, twelve string guitar
    Andrew Jackman – piano, electric piano (4), conductor, orchestration
    Bill Bruford – drums, percussion
    Patrick Moraz – synthesizer, organ (3)
    Jimmy Hastings – flute (2,3,5)
    Mel Collins – soprano saxophone (4)
    Barry Rose – pipe organ (1)
    Adrian Bett – woodwind, leader
    Jim Buck – horn
    Julian Gaillard – strings
    David Snell – harp, leader
    John Wilbraham – brass, leader
    Nikki Squire - backing vocals (1)

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 1894 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads