R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2014 » July » 28 » Circus ~ 1977 ~ Movin' On
    Circus ~ 1977 ~ Movin' On
    Circus ~ 1977 ~ Movin' Ongenre: prog
    country: switzerland
    audio: lossless (ape, cue, log, scans)
    time: 44'32"  size: 257 mb

    Crack in the Cosmic Egg:
    From Basle, Switzerland, Circus were one of the key bands in Swiss prog history. Ideally situated near the French and German borders, Circus had much success in Europe, with three studio albums and a document of them in concert (featuring many guest from other top Swiss bands).
    Formed in 1972, Circus took time to refine and hone their style, a complex rock with jazz and classical angles, and a rather unique instrumentation. Yes, remarkably, Circus played rock music without any electric guitars or keyboards, instead they used processed bass guitar and wind instruments. Undoubtedly, they were influenced by British progressive rock of the late-1960's/early-1970's, with references to Jethro Tull, King Crimson and (especially in the instrumentation) Van der Graaf Generator.

    Their debut was a promising first step, though it didn't quite reveal their potential, being a mite over lyrical. MOVIN' ON however, has become regarded as their classic, featuring lengthy tracks, with complex arrangements, dynamics, superb instrumentals and unusually crafted songs. With this they defined their own style, which was more than the sum of their influences.
    The live album, featuring numerous top Swiss talents as guests, featured a whole new set of material, and a move to more rock based works. Two years on, and with a more conventional instrumentation (notably a keyboard player, who joined during earlier live recordings), the third studio album FEARLESS, TEARLESS & EVEN LESS (sans Greidler's King Crimson cum Jethro Tull touches) took them closer to the symphonic prog of Genesis realms.
    Circus, later transmuted into Blue Motion. Marco Cerletti now makes jazz and ethnic fusion, playing the Chapman Stick. Fritz Hauser moved into experimental percussion and modern jazz realms.

    01. The Bandsman 4:28
    02. Laughter Lane 4:13
    03. Loveless Time 5:34
    04. Dawn 7:54
    05. Movin' On 22:23

    Fritz Hauser (drums, vibes, percussion)
    Marco Cerletti (bass, pedals, 12-string guitar, vocals)
    Andreas Grieder (flutes, tambourine, alto saxophone, vocals)
    Roland Frei (vocals, acoustic guitar, tenor saxophone)

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 959 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads