R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » February » 21 » Comus ~ 1971 ~ First Utterance
    Comus ~ 1971 ~ First Utterance

    Comus ~ 1971 ~ First Utterance

    genre: avant, psych, folk

    country: uk

    quality : lossless (ape, cue, log, covers)

    time: 1:14'54" size: 457 mb

    issue: 2005 japan


    Tapestry of Delights:

    The first LP is rock music only by association. Taking British folk as point of departure, the music twists and oozes as a vile bunch of snakes, pairing gorgeous melodies and expert playing to ecstatically altered vocals and vicious lyrics:

    'You stand before me defenceless
    your stare unchanging silent, cold, intense sears my brain
    drip drip from your saggin lip
    liquid red down your body spreads.'

    (from 'Drip Drip')

    Rape, murder, witchcraft and abuse are main ingredients to the menu, which is cooked with raging madness, but still manages to taste delicately composed. One of the very few British folk LP's that creates a totally new, dangerous and utterly unique atmosphere. Obligatory music!! By comparison, the second album cannot but disappoint. More common both in sound and content, this still is nice folk LP with some very good tracks. Studio musicians on woodwinds and 'normal' rock on bass and drums sound fine enough, but nothing superb. There also is a rare EP in existence with outtakes from the first album (Dawn 1006) with a slightly more subdued atmosphere.

    Their very rare and adventurous debut album First Utterance is now available on CD. The opening cut Diana is very strange and very appealing (to these ears), The Herald is a beautifully fragile instrumental with strings and woodwind, Drip Drip is a decidedly weird series of rantings and ramblings. The four tracks on side two essentially continue the challenging tapestry of beautiful woodwind, strings and unorthodox vocals which at times recall a folky version of early Curved Air. This dark, haunting and at times bizarre psychedelic folk rock masterpiece is recommended. ~ (Marcel Koopman / Vernon Joynson)

    1 Diana 4:37
    2 The Herald 12:09
    3 Drip Drip 10:52
    4 Song To Comus 7:29
    5 The Bite 5:32
    6 Bitten 2:16
    7 The Prisoner 6:17

    Bonus Tracks

    08. All The Colours Of Darkness (Bonus) 7:23
    09. Diana (Bonus) 4:24
    10. In The Lost Queen's Eyes (Bonus) 2:50
    11. Winter Is A Coloured Bird (Bonus) 8:02


    Acoustic Guitar [6-12 String], Guitar [Electric, Slide], Drums [Hand], Vocals, Artwork By [Inside Cover Design] - Glen Göring
    Bass [Electric], Bass [Slide], Vocals - Andy Hellaby 
    Violin, Viola - Colin Pearson
    Acoustic Guitar, Lead Vocals, Artwork By [Front Cover Design] - Roger Wootton 
    Flute, Oboe, Drums [Hand] - Rob Young
    Vocals, Percussion - Bobbie Watson

    Drums - Gordon Caxon (tracks: 8 to 10)


    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2953 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads