R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2014 » August » 8 » Flat Earth Society ~ 1968 ~ Waleeco
    Flat Earth Society ~ 1968 ~ Waleeco
    Flat Earth Society ~ 1968 ~ Waleecogenre: psych
    country: us
    audio: mp3 (320k, covers)
    time: 32'16" size: 77 mb

    Fuzz Acid & Flowers:
    From Lynn, just north of Boston, Flat Earth Society were notable for their crispy, clear vocal sound. In early 1968 they were approached by the Boston advertising firm Quinn and Johnson to make an album and a jingle for the manufacturer of the 'Waleeco' candy bar - the F. B. Washburn Candy Company. That year every 'Waleeco' bar carried a coupon advertising the Flat Earth's Society's album Waleeco for $1.50 and six 'Waleeco' bar wrappers.
    Recorded at Fleetwood Recording Studio in Revere, most of the material was written by Kerivan, the only non-original being a slow melodic version of Midnight Hour. The sound of their only album was notable for their crispy, clear vocal sound. Their most famus number "Feel'n much better" was included on this album. The album covers quite a wide rock spectrum with goodtime (I'm So Happy), folk (When You're There and The Prelude For Town Monk), hard rock (Four & Twenty Miles and Shadows), as well as psychedelia, but each track has the band's own style about it. Aside from Feelin' Much Better, the best tracks are arguably on the second side of the album. Dark Street Downtown has some haunting vocals superimposed upon swirling piano. Portrait In Grey is a haunting piano-oriented instrumental and Satori, a very strange psychedelic instrumental. The reissue is worth purchasing, although it's probably imprudent to fork out for the original should you come across a copy.

    The band made a few appearances after making the album but broke up soon after.
    In 1974, Fleetwood disposed of the remaining boxes of the album into the dumpster but luckily the mastertapes survived to be revived by Arf Arf who reissued the album in 1993 on CD in the original stereo mix (the vinyl originals had been mixed down to mono).
    Paul Carter was active in the Boston music scene until the late '80s, Phil Dubuque later moved to England for a while but is now back in Boston, and Jack Kerivan became senior director of professional services at NEC. One member was also later in Copperfield. ~ (Vernon Joynson / Max Waller / Lloyd Peasley)

    01. Feelin' Much Better 2:32
    02. Midnight Hour 3:43
    03. I'm So Happy 2:03
    04. When You're There 1:44
    05. Four And Twenty Miles 2:01
    06. Prelude For The Town Monk 3:17
    07. Shadows 2:00
    08. Dark Street Downtown 3:51
    09. Portrait In Grey 5:12
    10. In My Window 2:17
    11. Satori 3:36

    PAUL CARTER    bs, vcls
    RICK DOYLE    ld gtr, vcls
    PHIL DUBUQUE    gtr, vcls, recorder
    CURT GIRARD    drms
    JACK KERIVAN    keyb'ds, vcls

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 791 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 1
    1 ogirok   (13.08.2014 14:47)

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads