R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » February » 23 » Frumpy ~ 1973 ~ By the Way
    Frumpy ~ 1973 ~ By the Way

    genre: boogie

    country: germany

    quality : lossless (ape, cue, log, scans)

    time: 40'28" size: 270 mb

    issue: 1994

    Cosmic Dreams:

    Frumpy were one of the few progressive bands to receive considerable commercial success in their own lifetime. The band was formed on the initiative of Carsten Bohn in November 1969. They had all departed from the Irish-German folk band City Preachers which had existed since 1965 and also included the later famous Slapp Happy vocalist Dagmar Krause. Frumpy performed their first concerts in France in March 1970. In August they recorded their first album in Hamburg (though some parts were recorded in Holland with the producer Rainer Goltermann. All Will Be Changed (1970) was a fine example of vintage German progressive rock. Kravetz' very long solo passages of spacey organ excursions and Bohn's inventive percussion work-outs was both impressive and innovative. Albums recorded without guitars were quite rare in this musical field! lnga Rumpf's forceful voice also made the shorter blues and soul influenced rock songs a delight. These songs were comparable to Traffic or Spooky Tooth. There were five tracks in all, if one discounts the solo sections of "Rosalie" and "Floating". Two of the short tracks were also issued as a single: "Life Without Pain" coupled with "Morning". The album had a very uncommon gimmick fold-out cover: a semi-transparent printed plastic exterior picturing a chameleon on the front and back. Inside, line patterns form a picture of the group if the plastic exterior is drawn out in the right way. Indeed the packaging of their wonderful second album, simply entitled 2, was spectacular: a round, six part fold-out cover (with portraits of all members) put in a plastic bag. The record was even pressed on multi-coloured vinyl! Guitarist Rainer Baumann had joined in time for the recordings in 1971. The four tracks revealed a heavier and more mature progressive rock with classical overtones in Kravetz' organ (occasionally mellotron) work. Rainer Baumann also got his share of the limelight with his stunning blues-based guitar solos. Frumpy's best ever track was the closing number "Duty" (12:09) - with organ and guitar solos galore! The album is highly recommended. Due to musical differences Jean-Jaques Kravetz left Frumpy in the Spring of 1972 (and made a good solo album), but rejoined halfway through the recording of By The Way (1972). The other keyboard player on the album was Erwin Kama, the leader of the recently defunct Murphy Blend. By The Way was a more straight forward rock album, released on the legendary "swirl" Vertigo label and including a poster. In the Summer of 1972 Frumpy gave their last concerts, now with Thomas Kretschmer on guitar. A double live set was released posthumously in January 1973, containing a good selection of their live repertoire, but the technical quality was disappointing. For those of you who are keen to hear more Frumpy, there are two contributions ("Duty" & "Floating") on the live sampler Pop & Blues Festival '70. Rumpf, Kravetz and Schott formed Atlantis in 1972, a group that released several albums in a more mainstream style. Carsten Bohn recorded an album with Wolfgang "Zabba" Lindner (the drummer from Tomorrow's Gift) and the group Dennis.

    1. Goin' To The Country (3:40)
    2. By The Way (8:51)
    3. Singing Songs (7:02)
    4. I'm Afraid Big Moon (6:25)
    5. Release (8:50)
    6. Keep On Going (5:25)

    - Inga Rumpf / vocals, guitar
    - Jean-Jacques Kravetz / keyboards
    - Karl Heinz Schott / bass
    - Carsten Bohn / drums

    depositfiles: p1p2p3  =  sharingmatrix: p1p2p3

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3649 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 1
    1 doneke8718   (29.09.2013 10:10) [Материал]
    avatarI love Frumpy

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads