R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 2 » Galadriel - 1971 - Galadriel
    Galadriel - 1971 - Galadriel
    genre: heavy psych blues 
    country: australia
    quality : lossless (separate flac, cue, log, scans)
    time: 37'56" size: 235 mb
    issue: 2001 Akarma

    This 6-piece Australian band (not to be confused with the Slovak metal band or the Spanish neo prog outfit with the same name) released one album of mixed goodies in the early 70’s: some blues-tinged psychedelic rock, late 60’s hippie-style, with some West Coast vibes. They were working on a second album but somehow the master tapes were destroyed and the album never materialized. Following this, the party split up in 1972, their guitarist/vocalist Garry Adams as well as drummer Doug Bligh teeming up with a band called The CLICK; Bligh later joined another Aussie symphonic prog outfit (WINDCHASE) for their album "Symphinity” in 1977.
    The band’s sole legacy, a self-titled album released in 1971, is quite similar to myriads of obscure early 70’s rock bands with vague progressive leanings: blues based with elements of soft or folk-rock (JETHRO TULL-style for the flute), a bit of jazz and some hard rock. The folk-tinged tracks seem to work best; the others, although quite varied in style, are rather dull.
    Not essential although it could be of some interest to fans heavily into "early roots” prog.
    01 - Amble On 3:40
    02 - Such A Fool 3:10
    03 - Girl Of Xeventeen 4:40
    04 - She's Left Her Love 3:50
    05 - Working 3:36
    06 - Standing In The Rain 3:29
    07 - Mind Games 5:33
    08 - Lady Was A Thief 3:14
    09 - One Day In Paradise 5:21
    10 - Things To Come 1:23

    - Garry Adams / guitar, vocals
    - Doug Bligh / drums
    - Gary Lothian / guitar
    - Mike Parker / bass, flute
    - John Scholtens / vocals
    - Bruce Belbin / bass

    Cellar Records released the self-titled Galadriel album in 1971. It was a masterwork of progressive rock diversions for those looking for something new and different musically. Taking the lead from Jethro Tull, as many groups were, the addition of flute and well placed keyboards gave their music an immediate new look opposed to the straight ahead simple rock roll that many groups decided to remain producing. I found another group with the same name that originated in the 1980’s that has no connection to this group whatsoever. Once again I came up empty in my search for more information about an obscure but excellent forgotten group.

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2904 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads