R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » November » 12 » Georgie Fame & Alan Price ~ 1971 ~ Fame and Price, Price and Fame: Together!
    Georgie Fame & Alan Price ~ 1971 ~ Fame and Price, Price and Fame: Together!
    Georgie Fame & Alan Price ~ 1971 ~ Fame and Price, Price and Fame: Together!
    genre: rhythm'n'blues
    country: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, scan)
    time: 40'27" size:  mb

    Depending on how you count his UK releases and early US compilations, this is Alan Price’s third “solo” album since leaving the Animals in 1965. Of course, that hardly takes into consideration all the pies Price was fingering back then, including (but not limited to) slummin’ with Dylan (Don’t Look Back), The Alan Price Set, his musical stage scores and extensive UK TV work. Virtually all of which was lost on US audiences, who were only served up a couple of introductory compilation LPs with invisible promotional support here in the States. It also explains why – to this day – it’s Harry Nilsson who garners all the accolades for introducing the music of Randy Newman to a wider audience in 1970 (Nilsson Sings Newman), even though Alan Price had already been championing Newman’s work since 1967, recording seven of Randy’s tunes for his sophomore solo LP, A Price On His Head. Prior to his career-boosting soundtrack LP, O, Lucky Man! , Price joined forces with another under-appreciated UK institution, Georgie Fame, for this exquisite obscurity, Fame/Price/Together. Price continues his fascination with Newman by covering “Yellow Man” and, while there’s some evidence of Alan’s English Music Hall roots (e.g. “Rosetta”), Fame/Price offers a wider stylistic approach that just might find favor with stateside types, as well as those who first picked up on Price via his excellent 1974 release, Between Today And Yesterday . Some of this album’s stylistic variety may be the influence of Georgie Fame, who (I’m ashamed to say) I knew even less about than Price as a young record buyer, despite his status as a respected UK favorite. But Price dominates here (writing half of the tunes), and the pair tackles covers by Charlie Rich, Delaney Bramlett (Delaney And Bonnie) and Roosevelt Jamison (“That’s How Strong My Love Is”), among others. Repeated listens, however, will convince you that this one’s a keeper. We’ve also got Alan Price’s unreleased 1974 follow-up to O, Lucky Man!,

    01. "Roseta" 2:53
    02. "Yellow Man" 3:42
    03. "Dole Song" 2:52
    04. "Time I Moved On" 4:12
    05. "John And Mary" 3:35
    06. "Here And Now" 2:55
    07. "Home Is Where Your Heart It" 3:22
    08. "Ballad Of Billy Joe" 4:30
    09. "That's How Strong My Love Is" 5:09
    10. "Blue Condition" 3:41
    11. "I Can't Take It Much Longer" 3:37
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2407 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 1
    1 nettorr   (13.11.2010 10:27) [Материал]
    Thank You !!

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads