R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » August » 22 » Groundhogs ~ 1970 ~ Thank Christ For The Bomb
    Groundhogs ~ 1970 ~ Thank Christ For The Bomb
    Groundhogs ~ 1968 ~ Thank Christ For The Bomb
    genre: psych heavy blues
    country: uk
    quality: lossless (ape separate, log, scans)
    time: 1:05'02"  size: 415 mb
    misc.: 2003
    Tapestry Of Delights:

    The band first formed in 1963 and backed US blues artist John Lee Hooker as John Lee's Groundhogs for two years before disbanding in 1965. An album, John Lee Hooker With The Groundhogs, was recorded during this period.

    The band reformed in 1968 with a new line-up, although Steve Rye left after their first album. They continued through their 'golden years' as a trio. Scratching The Surface, their debut, was a pretty mellow blues album. Blues Obituary was their final straight blues album and for the next few efforts they turned towards heavy rock with a certain degree of socio-political comment. Thank Christ For The Bomb was one of their more successful attempts and took them into the UK Album Charts for the first time.

    For Hogwash, Ken Pustelnik was replaced by Clive Brooks, but after Solid the group disbanded, leader Tony McPhee having made a solo album, The Two Sides Of Tony McPhee (Worldwide Artists WWA 001) in 1973. However, in 1975 McPhee put the band back on the road with a new line-up.

    The double compilation and free EP released by Psycho comprised live material from 1971 concerts in London and Leeds as part of a Rolling Stones tour, and material from a concert in Stockholm in 1976 shortly before the band split up. For diehard progressive blues fans only!

    1. Strange Town (McPhee) (...alienness of community)
    2. Darkness Is No Friend (Trad. Arr. McPhee) (...alienness of small room)
    3. Soldier (McPhee) (...alienness of a country)
    4. Thank Christ For The Bomb (McPhee) (...alienness...)

    1. Ship On The Ocean (Trad. Arr. McPhee)
    2. Garden (McPhee)
    3. Status People (Trad. Arr. McPhee)
    4. Rich Man, Poor Man (Trad. Arr. McPhee)
    5. Eccentric Man (McPhee)
    (...the story of a man who lived in Chelsea all his life; first in a mansion then on the benches of the embankment)

    10 - Garden (BBC radio 1 session 1970) 3:35
    11 - Eccentric Man (BBC radio 1 session 1971) 5:01
    12 - Soldier (BBC, In Concert 1974) 15:03

    Tony (T.S.) McPhee - vocal, guitar.
    Pete Cruickshank - bass.
    Ken Pustelnik - drums.

    Produced by Tony (T.S.) McPhee.
    Recorded during February, 1970 at De Lane Lea Studios, London.
    Engineer: Martin Birch.
    Composed, written and arranged by Tony (T.S.) McPhee.
    Sleeve design: Clearwater Conception.
    Artist - Alan Tanner.

    depositfiles: p1, p2, p3, p4
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3924 | Rating: 5.0/2

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads