R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » April » 24 » J. D. Blackfoot - 1970 - The Ultimate Prophecy
    J. D. Blackfoot - 1970 - The Ultimate Prophecy
    J. D. Blackfoot - 1970 - The Ultimate ProphecyStyle: psych
    Country: us
    Audio: lossless (ape, cue, log, scans)
    time : 40'03" Size: 247 mb

    from Fuzz Acid & Flowers:
    This group was from Columbus, Ohio. They started out as a combination of two local groups, The Ebb Tides and Tree. They continued as Tree and won a recording deal from Mercury as a prize in a local band competition. Craig Fuller was added to the group after some of the material for the Ultimate Prophecy had already been written. The album credits two people who don't play a note on it - Phil Stokes on bass (the actual bass player was Kenny May - he was replaced after the recording), and Sterling Smith on keyboards (also joining after the recording, there are no keyboards on the album!). The line-up with Phil and Sterling did record some unreleased material. The album did very well in the St. Louis area as there was significant radio play there. After a period of time, J.D. Blackfoot left the group and the rest of the band continued to play as Osiris. J.D. assembled a new group and recorded the two Fantasy label LPs. Some of the musicians on those albums were in other sixties Columbus area bands like The Four O'Clock Balloon and The Myrchents. The group Osiris sort of metamorphosised into two other groups, one of them being the Load, who recorded an album Praise The Load, which is keyboard driven progressive rock like ELP. The Ultimate Prophecy album is arguably the best rock album ever from Ohio. Side one shows off Craig Fuller's country/folk roots which he expanded in Pure Prarie League. Side two features lyrics by J.D. Blackfoot and drummer Dan Waldron as they search for "the Answer". Most of the music on side two was composed by guitarist and original Tree member Jeff Whitlock. J.D. himself spent two years in New Zealand between 1972-74. He and his wife went there for a month's holiday in 1972 and liked it so much they stayed much longer. Indeed, his second album, The Song Of Crazy Horse, was recorded at Auckland's Stebbing Studio with local luminaries such as Billy Kristian on bass and Frank Gibson on drums. Indeed, it won New Zealand's 'Best Album Of The Year Award' in 1974 and remains highly collectable. He also released an EP, Nobody's Business/Let Her Go/Stay The Night Away/He Walks On Past (Bison B-77), 1984. Blackfoot, who changed his name to Van Dervort in 1970, sold the worldwide rights to Fantasy Records some years ago, but retained exclusive rights to the New Zealand market. Currently living in Columbus, Ohio, he still makes recordings. Craig Fuller and Phil Stokes later co-founded Pure Prairie League. Fuller was later a member of American Flyer together with Doug Yule (Velvet Underground), Eric Kaz (Blue Magoos) and Steve Katz (Blues Project). They released two albums for United Artists in 1975 and 1976 of average country rock produced by George Martin. Later still, Craig Fuller became lead singer for the reformed Little Feat in the early '90s.

    01. One Time Woman 3:44
    02. Angel 3:50
    03. We Can Try 3:27
    04. Good Day Extending Company 4:42
    05. I've Never Seen You 3:17
    06. The Ultimate Prophecy 5:41
    07. Death's Finale 2:30
    08. Cycles 2:17
    09. Waiting To Be Born 5:16
    10. Pink Sun 5:19
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 4853 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 2
    2 ashley   (13.10.2011 17:05) [Материал]
    This will be new to me. I like Craig Fuller, especially his work on the first two Pure Prairie League albums, so I'm eager to hear this. Thank you!

    1 danilo   (28.04.2010 19:50) [Материал]
    Thanks great post

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads