R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2014 » September » 10 » Jason Crest ~ 1998 ~ The Collected Works of Jason Crest
    Jason Crest ~ 1998 ~ The Collected Works of Jason Crest
    Jason Crest ~ 1998 ~ The Collected Works of Jason Crestgenre: psych
    country: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers,
     size: 333 mb)
    time: 53'01"

    Tapestry Of Delights:
    Formed in Tonbridge, Kent, by Terry Clarke and Terry Dobson, this band were originally known as The Spurlyweeves and later as The Good Thing Brigade. In November 1967 they were spotted by former Four Pennies bassist, who was working as an A&R man for Philips at the time. He got them a recording contract just ahead of EMI, who were also interested.
    Their debut 45, Turquoise Tandem Cycle, was quite impressive - a slowish Procol Harum-like ballad with classical undertones, a steady beat and a sort of pipe organ throughout. With a little more power it could have been a hit, but is wasn't.
    The follow-up, Juliano The Bull, a rather child-orientated pop song which isn't as good, met with the same fate. By now their record company was beginning to panic at their lack of commercial success and Roy Wood was brought in as a producer for their third 45, a cover of The Move's (Here We Go Round The) Lemon Tree (which had been the flip side to Flowers In The Rain a year earlier). Despite Wood's presence the single flopped.

    For their fourth 45 the band were ordered to record a Fritz Fryer composition, Waterloo Road, which was so uninteresting that no-one's bothered to compile it. By now Philips had all but lost interest in them. One probable spin off is that they were allowed to select another Clarke/Dobson composition for what would be their final 45, Black Mass. A slow piece of heavier psychedelia, the vocals, in particular, reflect very much the emerging late sixties heavy rock style of bands like Deep Purple. The flip side was also pretty good.
    Sadly, the 45 again met with indifference and the group broke up soon after its release. The band also recorded some other tracks in 1968 including:- King Of The Castle, Collected Works Of Justin Crest, Teagarden Lane, You Really Got A Hold On Me and Charge Of The Light Brigade. Of these the strongest are Teagarden Lane, another Procol Harum-type organ-led ballad with a fine ending and You Really Got A Hold On Me, which is given an interesting reinterpretation with more good organ work. The other three are pretty credible British whimsical pop-psych efforts which are well worth hearing.
    After the band split Terry Dobson quit the music business. The remaining members splintered into Orang Utan (whose heavy psychedelic album was only released in the States), High Broom and Samuel Proby. Within a few months, though, Clarke, Siggery and Smallcombe teamed up in Highway who soon became Holy Mackerel. From 1983 onwards Terry Clarke fronted Vendetta with ex-Mike Stuart Span guitarist Brian Bennett.

    01. Turquoise Tandem Cycle 3:43
    02. Teagarden Lane 4:07
    03. Patricia's Dream 2:44
    04. A Place In The Sun 3:24
    05. My House Is Burning 3:24
    06. King Of The Castle 2:58
    07. The Collected Works Of Jason Crest 3:39
    08. Black Mass 4:46
    09. Charge Of The Light Brigade 3:03
    10. (Here We Go Round) The Lemon Tree 3:05
    11. You Really Got A Hold On Me 4:05
    12. Two By The Sea 2:58
    13. Juliano The Bull 2:28
    14. Education 2:38
    15. Waterloo Road 3:12
    16. Good Life 2:47

    Terry Clarke (vocals); Terry Dobson (guitar); Derek Smallcombe (guitar); Ron Fowler (Bass), replaced by John Selley after the third single & Roger Siggery (Drums)

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 1087 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads