R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » November » 15 » Jody Grind ~ 2007 ~ Interaction: A Jody Grind Anthology
    Jody Grind ~ 2007 ~ Interaction: A Jody Grind Anthology
    Jody Grind ~ 2007 ~ Interaction: A Jody Grind Anthology
    genre: prog
    country: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, booklet scans)
    size: 650 mb

    Jody Grind were a British proto-prog act with a full-throttle Hammond organ and bluesy guitars defining their sound. The band (basically the brainchild of organist Tim Hinkley) made the same bet that Brian Auger and ELP did: that organ players--tired of being upstaged by wanky guitarists--are rock stars too. Unfortunately, the record-buying public rarely agrees with this premise and the two albums, released in their late-'60s heyday, ONE STEP ON and FAR CANAL, were commercial duds.

    Both albums are included in their entirety on INTERACTION: A JODY GRIND ANTHOLOGY, a two-disc collection that seeks to be the final word on the band. Despite their failure in the marketplace, a lot of these jams truly cook, particularly on the first disc, perfecting a propulsive organ-driven blues-rock groove that recalls a leaner, jazzier Vanilla Fudge. FAR CANAL, the second disc, tends to more standard progressive rock leanings--i.e. the structures get more complicated, the fills even jazzier, and the pretensions weightier--but there is still an over-the-top energy that keeps the set rollicking. The collection also features bonus tracks, including the single version of their searing cover of "Paint It Black."

    Jody Grind
    CD1 (One step on) (1:39'47")
    1. One Step On (18:47)
    - a. In My Mind
    - b. Nothing At All
    - c. Interaction
    - d. Paint It Black
    2. Little Message (4:42)
    3. Night Today (5:04)
    4. U.S.A. (6:41)
    5. Rock 'n' Roll Man (4:31)

    CD 2 (Far canal) (58'40")
    1. We've Had It (5:07)
    2. Bath Sister (3:28)
    3. Jump Bed Jed 7:14)
    4. O Paradiso (7:31)
    5. Plastic Shit (7:18)
    6. Vegetable Oblivion (2:09)
    7. Red Worms & Lice (7:23)
    8. Ballad For Bridget (3:42)

    Bonus tracks
    9. Night today (alternate version) (5:08)
    10. Rock'n'roll man (single version) (4:12)
    11. Paint it black (single version) (5:06)

    Disc 1 and disc 2 tracks 9-11
    Tim Hinkley / organ
    Ivan Zagni / guitar
    Barry Wilson / drums
    Louis Cenammo / bass on 'Paint It Black', 'A Little Message', and 'Rock n Roll Man'. 

    Disc 2, tracks 1-8
    Tim Hinkley / keyboards, vocals
    Pete Gavin / drums
    Bernie Holland / guitar

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2805 | Rating: 4.7/3

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads