R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 1 » Kaipa - 1975 - Kaipa
    Kaipa - 1975 - Kaipa
    genre: neo prog
    country: sweden
    quality : lossless (flac, cue, log, scans)
    time: 53'48" size: 371 mb
    issue: 2005 Remastered

    Kaipa's three first albums stand as the high-point of Swedish symphonic prog in the 1970's. Their debut (Musea FGBG 4091.AR) introduces a young, ambitious band exploring the boundaries and overlap-areas of rock, classical, jazz and folk. Keyboardist and primary composer Hans Lundin dominates the sound with piano, organ, string-synth and both melodic and occasionally more grating synthesizer solos. His high-pitched yet guttural voice, present on five out of eight tracks, is perhaps the most jarring element in Kaipa's music, though I find it quite melodious most of the time. Tomas Eriksson brings a twangy Rickenbacker bass tone to Swedish rock with his melodic lines (though he is no Chris Squire), while drummer Ingemar Bergman keeps the swinging beat and works the dynamics well within the limits allowed by a rather poor drum sound with his top-heavy style (listen to his cymbal work on "Ankaret" for a good example of economic but appropriate accompaniment). To top it all off, young Roine Stolt (some twenty years before his ascension to the throne of the floral kingdom) contributes Hackett/Latimer-styled guitar melodies and occasionally more blistering solos in the Robin Trower style. The band's main strength, however, is that they saturate each song with upbeat, expansive melodies which often draw influence from various types of Scandinavian folk music, giving Kaipa's music a flavour quite distinct from their British contemporaries; Stolt's instrumental composition "Förlorad i Istanbul" also brings in Middle-Eastern melodic material. However, some compositional immaturities are still evident in the band's reliance on jamming in favour of linear development on some tracks, and the album's reverb-hazy sound doesn't do complete justice to the majesty of the music. ... -- Kai Karmanheimo

    01. Musiken ar ljuset (7:04)
    02. Saker har tva sidor (4:34)
    03. Ankaret (8:40)
    04. Skogspromenad (3:40)
    05. Allting har en borjan (3:12)
    06. Se var morgon gry (8:53)
    07. Forlorad i Istanbul (2:24)
    08. Oceaner foder liv (9:28)

    Bonus tracks:
    09. Fran det ena till det andra (2:49)
    10. Karavan (2:54)

    - Ingemar Bergman / drums, percussion, vocal
    - Tomas Eriksson / bass, vocal
    - Hans Lundin / Hammond organ, Fender Rhodes electric piano, Grand piano, Yamaha SY1 Synthesizer, Harpsichord, Logan String-machine, Glockenspiel, lead vocal
    - Roine Stolt / electric and acoustic guitars, vocal

    nitroflare: p1, p2
    Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 1803 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads