R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 17 » Locomotive ~ 1970 ~ We Are Everything You See
    Locomotive ~ 1970 ~ We Are Everything You See
    genre: prog/fusion
    country: uk
    quality: lossless (ape, cue, log, booklet scans)
    time: 1:02'22"  size: 327 mb
    misc.: 2003
    Tapestry Of Delights:
    This Birmingham-based band included Chris Wood who was later a founder member of Traffic. They enjoyed a Top Thirty hit at the time with their ska-styled Rudi's In Love. Nowadays their rare album attracts interest from connoisseurs of progressive rock. Far and away the best track on it is Mr. Armageddon, a stunningly powerful slice of doomy psychedelia with brass (!), which deserved far more success than it achieved when issued as a 45.
    The album, produced by Gus Dudgeon, also includes versions of Coming Down and Love Song For the Dead Ché (songs written by Joseph Byrd and performed with his band The United States Of America on their album). Certainly an album well worth investigating but avoid paying well in excess of £100 for an original.
    Locomotive member Norman Haines had earlier played in a mid-sixties beat band called The Brumbeats, but not the band who issued a 45. Haines soon became Locomotive's main songwriter, writing their first 45, Broken Heart, a soul-based number. The flip was a version of the bluebeat number, Rudy, A Message To You. The Jamaican influence remained with Haines when he wrote Rudi's In Love, a dance number which became a hit in the short-term but a millstone in the long-term since it prevented the group from being taken seriously as a progressive rock band which is what they really wanted to be. This was a great pity 'cos their next 45 was the excellent Mr. Armageddon, which was their finest moment and had the potential in 1969 to be a hit, instead it flopped. Their fourth single was a cover of ? and The Mysterians' I'm Never Gonna Let You Go, a much more poppy offering, though the flip, You Must Be Joking, was a progressive rock number also featured on their album. When this too bombed the writing was on the wall and Mick Hincks and Bob Lamb soon departed to form Dog That Bit People. Norman Haines went on to form Sacrifice (who did not record) but after their demise EMI released an album of their material credited to the Norman Haines' Band. It is now one of the very rarest artefacts of UK progressive rock and much coveted by collectors.

    Overture (2:03)
    Mr Armageddon (4:25)
    Now Is The End - The End Is When (3:14)
    Lay Me Down Gently (3:58)
    Nobody Asked You To Come (3:15)
     Joking [mono single version] (4:01)
    Movin' Down The Line (2:45)
    Roll Over Mary (3:02)You Must Be Joking (3:59)
    A Day In Shining Armour (3:28)
    The Loves Of Augustus Abbey Part One (1:07)
    Rain (3:25)
    The Loves Of Augustus Abbey Part Two (1:29)
    Coming Down / Love Song For The Dead Chй (4:29)
    The Loves Of Augustus Abbey Part Three (1:22)
    Time Of Light And Darkness (4:34)

    Bonus Tracks:
    Mr Armageddon [mono single version] (4:38)
    There's Got To Be A Way (3:45)
    I'm Never Gonna Let You Go (3:14)
    17. You Must Be Joking (Mono) (Bonus) 4:01
    18. Movinґ Down The Line (Bonus) 2:46
    19. Roll Over Mary (Bonus) 3:03

    • NORMAN HAINES keyb'ds, vcls
    • MICK HINCKS bs, vcls
    • BOB LAMB drms
    • MIKE TAYLOR trumpet
    • (LYN DOBSON sax)
    • (HENRY LOWTHER trumpet)
    • (BILL MADGE sax)
    • (CHRIS MERCER sax)
    • (CHRIS WOOD woodwind)
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3030 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 1
    1 Dan   (21.12.2010 06:07) [Материал]
    avatarI just read about this in connection with The Dog That Bit people, so I have to check it out. I had heard of Locomotive but didn't know their one LP was a progressive endeavor. Holy cow, look, Dick Heckstall-Smith is on this. Thanks!

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads