R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » December » 5 » Madder Lake ~ 1974 ~ Butterfly Farm
    Madder Lake ~ 1974 ~ Butterfly Farm
    Madder Lake ~ 1974 ~ Butterfly Farm
    genre: prog related
    country: australia
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, cover)
    time: 51'11" size: 327 mb
    Dreams Fantasies and Nightmares:
    A Melbourne band, who formed in 1971 and lasted until 1978. They played inventive progressive rock, which was full of great guitar work and complex arrangements, though weak vocally.
    Their debut album Stillpoint was adventurous and owed its unique sound to Mick Fettes' unique vocals, John McKinnon's sparse keyboards and the blues tinged guitar playing of Brendon Mason. Highlights include the eight minute moody opening cut Salmon Song, the funky 12 Lb Toothbrush and Goodbye Lollipop, a neat balance of commercial pop and progressive rock. The two last-mentioned tracks were also released as singles, though in the case of 12 Lb Toothbrush, the six minute album version was re-recorded down to four minutes.
    As Ian McFarlane pointed out in 'Freedom Train', their second album, Butterfly Farm, may well have been technically superior to their debut but lacked the band's infectious live dynamism. It was full of tightly-structured songs like the boogie-ish Back Seat Song, the heavy progressive One Star And The Moon and Ride On Fast and the spacey Mothership and the musicianship was difficult to fault. It sold quite well but the two singles culled from it failed to chart. Even It's All In Your Head, which was specifically tailored for radio audiences, missed out and when their contract with Mushroom expired at the end of 1974 it wasn't renewed by mutual consent.
    They commenced work on a new concept album based around Aldous Huxley's Brave New World with conductor David Meecham. Unfortunately for them, due to financial constraints and other commitments on Meecham's time, it ended up getting shelved. Still they soldiered on beyond the timespan of this book. Fettes left in 1975, issuing an album with his new band Bandicoot in 1976 on the Rainbird label.
    They re-formed briefly in 1983. ~  (Vernon Joynson/Ian McFarlane)

    01. "Rodney's Birthday" 3:01
    02. "Mother Ship" 7:42
    03. "Booze Blues" 2:57
    04. "Ride on Fast" 4:28
    05. "One Star and the Moon" 5:22
    06. "Butterfly Farm" 3:35
    07. "Slack Alice" 5:10
    08. "Back Seat Song" 3:29
    09. "It's All in Your Head (single a-side)" 3:55
    10. "I Get High (single a-side)" 3:28
    11. "Rodney's Birthday (live at Garrison)" 2:58
    12. "Lizards (live at Sunbury)" 5:07
    Mick Fettes (vocals),
    Jack Kreemers (drums),
    Brendon Mason (lead guitar),
    Kerry McKenna (bass, synthesizer, vocals, guitar),
    Andy Cowan (keyboards)
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3024 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 1
    1 edo   (07.12.2010 11:01) [Материал]
    I've been listening to many australian bands,but ML are one of the finest.Recomended! Thank you!!!

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads