R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » April » 29 » Madrugada - 1974 - Madrugada + 1977 - Incastro
    Madrugada - 1974 - Madrugada + 1977 - Incastro
    genre: prog
    country: italy
    quality : mp3 (256k, cover)
    time: 1:15'25" size: 13 mb

    ItalianProg site:
    This band from Bergamo was formed around 1970, and had a long life that lasted until 1978. Their name means dawn in spanish.
    The group derived from some 60's beat bands like I Condor, that included bass player Alessandro Zanelli and keyboardist Franco Orlandini (from Mat 65 and who later worked with Equipe 84 and Claudio Rocchi), and later changed name to Le Lunghe Storie.
    Though not properly a progressive rock album, their first one, only released in 1974 by Philips, contains some interesting parts.
    It contains seven tracks, some of which written by Roberto Vecchioni (a singer-songwriter that's still very popular nowadays) and Mauro Paoluzzi.
    The first side shows some influences by a West Coast styled sound, with multivocal parts very well executed but not particularly original. Second side contains the long Mandrax, led by Gianfranco Pinto's keyboards, that's probably the best album track.
    Except for a limited use of acoustic guitar on Uomo blu the band didn't use guitars and their sound was strongly based on keyboards and richly arranged vocal parts.

    Second album came three years later, this time the trio was helped by some guest musicians like Lucio Fabbri on violin (Piazza delle Erbe and later PFM) and Luciano Ninzatti on guitar (from Eugenio Finardi's band Crisalide).With a much better production and sound, this can be considered the best of their two albums, with long tracks like the opening Romanzen or Aragon showing a very good composition quality. Another nice song was È triste il vento, that had previously been played by another group from Bergamo that had a close connection with Madrugada, Perdio.
    Like in the first album there are some odd different-styled tracks, like the folky Noter de Berghem and the silly Katmandu (that was also released on single with È triste il vento, but with no success), but Incastro can be surely appreciated by progressive music fans.
    The band split at the end of the 70's, keyboardist Pinto has collaborated with many italian and international artists (Patty Pravo, Roberto Vecchioni, Adriano Pappalardo, Riccrado Fogli, Gianna Nannini, Brian Auger), and in the late 90's with the reformed progressive group Perdio. He still plays now in the piano bar circuit.
    Bass player Billy Zanelli formed the semi-punk group Judas, with an album on Spaghetti label in 1978, and later played with Roberto Vecchioni.

    1. Madrugada I (3:00)
    2. Camminar (5:04)
    3. Vieni Nella Strada (3:44)
    4. Uomo Blu (6:02)
    5. D.M.T. (3:53)
    6. Mandrax (9:50)
    7. Madrugada II (1:57)

    Gianfranco Pinto / eminent, Hammond organ, harpsichord, piano Rhodes and steinway, Moog, vocals
    Alessandro "Billy" Zanelli / bass guitar, triangle, Moog, vocals
    Pietro Rapelli / drums, percussion, Moog, vocals
    M. Paoluzzi / acoustic guitar (4)

    1. Romanzen (12:30)
    2. E' Triste Il Vento (5:28)
    3. Aragon (8:51)
    4. Katmandu (3:41)
    5. Noter De Berghem (1:26)
    6. Hobbit (8:20)

    Gianfranco Pinto / keyboards, vocals
    Alessandro "Billy" Zanelli / bass guitar, vocals
    Pietro Rapelli / drums, percussions, vocals
    Lucio Fabbri / violin (1,2)
    Gianluigi Trovesi / sax (2,3,6)
    Gianni Bertocchi / flute (1)
    Luciano Ninzatti / acoustic and electric guitars (3)
    Silvia Annicchiarico / vocals (6)

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2717 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads