R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » March » 15 » Magna Carta ~ 1970 ~ Seasons
    Magna Carta ~ 1970 ~ Seasons
    Magna Carta ~ 1970 ~ Seasons

    genre: folk, prog

    country: uk

    quality : lossless (ape, cue, log, scans)

    time: 40'52" size: 238 mb


    Tapestry of Delights:

    This folk trio formed in the late sixties. In fact they were originally a duo - of Yorkshire-born Simpson and Australian Tranter. Glen Stuart joined them after they got a recording deal with Fontana. After what is now a very rare album on Mercury, they recorded a series of fine progressive contemporary folk albums on Vertigo. Seasons is beautiful, its subject matter being as the title suggests. It got to No 55 in the UK Album Charts. Guitarist Davey Johnstone was added to the line-up for the third album which also featured a guest appearance from Rick Wakeman. The In Concert album, which featured them live in Amsterdam, was disappointing in comparison to Songs From Wasties Orchard, which many consider to be their magnum opus. Johnstone departed after these two albums to work with Elton John and Kiki Dee.

    Stan Gordon was added for Lord Of The Ages, which was well received. Bassist Graham Smith who'd done session work on the album joined the group shortly after. Within the year, though, Gordon and Smith had both departed, leaving Simpson and Stuart as a duo.

    In the mid-seventies they briefly experimented with a more rock-based format, but this, like most of their subsequent line-ups, was short-lived. Stuart then quit the band for good in this era but Simpson remained to work with various line-ups over the next 15 years. He also recorded a solo album, Listen To The Man, in 1983.


    1. Seasons (22:14)
    - Prologue 
    - Winter Song
    - Spring Poem 
    - Spring Song
    - Summer Poem
    - Summer Song
    - Autumn Song 
    - Epilogue
    - Winter Song (reprise) 
    2. Going my Way (2:55) 
    3. Elizabethan (2:38) 
    4. Give me no Goodbye (3:10) 
    5. Ring of Stones (3:49)
    6. Scarecrow (2:17)
    7. Airport Song (3:41)


    - Chris Simpson / guitar, vocals

    - Lyell Tranter / guitars

    - Glenn stuart / vocals


    Guest musicians

    - Tony Carr / drums

    - Spike Heatley / bass, accoustic bass

    - Derek Grossmith / Flute

    - davey johnstone / guitar, vocals

    - Barry Morgan / drums

    - Tony Visconti / bass, percussion and recorder

    Rick Wakeman / organ, piano and keyboards

    - Tim Renwick / recorder

    - Peter Willison / cello

    - London Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Gus Dudgeon


    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2724 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 4
    4 Des   (28.05.2014 12:55) [Материал]
    Along with 'Wasties', one of their two best albums! Salutations.

    3 marsell   (09.12.2011 19:56) [Материал]

    2 civilino   (01.12.2011 15:13) [Материал]
    Thanks, pretty work.

    1 lplover   (07.11.2011 18:13) [Материал]
    avatarMany thanks, oleg for another great album. I haven't been here for a longer time but there are always fine things to discover. Long may the blog live. I hope you will return someday. All the best to You

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads