R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 1 » Majic Ship - 1997 - The Complete Authorized Recording
    Majic Ship - 1997 - The Complete Authorized Recording

    genre: harmony psych
    country: us
    quality : mp3 256k, scans
    time: 1:13'42"
    size: 138 mb
    misc.: complil.

    Fuzz Acid & Flowers:
    From Long Island, New York. The above album was very rare and contains a stunning version of Neil Young's Down By The River, which merges into For What Its Worth. Many other tracks, such as Free contain some pulsating guitar work, but there are some mellow ones too. A highly recommended album, now available officially on CD by Gear Fab, together with many bonus tracks.
    Majic Ship evolved out of The Primitives, an outfit formed by Ray Rifice and Tommy Nikosey whilst at Saint Anselm's school in New York at the tender age of thirteen! By June 1965, they had learned to play their instruments somewhat, recruiting Mike Garrigan on vocals and the following year recording an acetate of On The Edge / Mustang Sally at a local studio. When original bass-player John Kharouf quit, Gus Riozzi was introduced, and they became The New Primitives, performing locally and adding keyboardist Jeff Bilotta in the process.
    As the summer of '68 approached, the bands high school years were coming to an end, and Ray Rifice moved to Florida. Days before he moved, ex-50s singer turned manager, Johnny Mann saw the band perform at a local gig and offered them a deal. Fortuitously, the day after the gig Philip Polimeni was found as a replacement for the departing Ray and with a new name given to them by their management company Majic Ship, they recorded the Night Time Music 45.
    Shortly after its release, Night Time Music was selected as WMCA's "Pick Of The Week" in Dec '68, and the soulful Hummin' was picked as it's follow-up, charting regionally, and allowing the band to tour around the East Coast. After a further two singles, including the excellent Green Plant, Jeff Bilotta quit... and the band, wishing to return to their rock roots, went back into the studio to record their debut album.
    Like many bands of the era, their album was largely overlooked at the time, although it is in retrospect a definite 'classic', with the years spent gigging and recording 45s resulting in a well produced and 'rounded' album that flows with a graceful beauty absent in many chart acts. However also like many of their counterparts, their progress was brought to an untimely end when in 1971 their rented apartment in Staten Island, was burned down together with all their equipment. With no insurance, the band called it quits.
    The Gear Fab retrospective, includes The Primitives acetate, all of Majic Ship's 45 cuts, the entire album and one new cut Blow Me Away, recorded by the band in 1997. It also comes with detailed liner notes, from which this article has been compiled, and many rare photo's of the band. The package can only really be faulted in that the running order is a little dis-jointed, with the bonus tracks coming before the album cuts, and the band interview sections being too quiet. Still an essential reissue though!

    JEFF BILOTTA keyb'ds
    ROB BUCKMAN drms
    TOMMY NIKOSEY gtr, vcls
    PHIL POLIMENI ld gtr
    COSMO (GUS) RIOZZI bs, organ, vcl

    01. Night Time Music 2:12
    02. Mustang Sally (Demo) 3:23
    03. On The Edge (Demo) 3:24
    04. Humminґ 2:36
    05. Itґs Over 2:18
    06. Green Plant 2:27
    07. To Love Somebody 2:47
    08. On The Edge 2:50
    09. And When Itґs Over 2:13
    10. Sioux City Blues 2:59
    11. Wed, Morning Dew 3:03
    12. Lifeґs Lonely Road 2:50
    13. We Gotta Live On 3:13
    14. Where Are We Going 2:33
    15. Free 4:18
    16. Down By The River 10:50
    17. Nightmare 2:38
    18. Too Much 3:35
    19. Cosmoґs Theme 3:46
    20. Blow Me Away 3:39
    21. Not Listed At Cover 6:08

    depositfiles, uploadbox
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2688 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads