R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » December » 10 » Octopus ~ 1970 ~ Restless Night
    Octopus ~ 1970 ~ Restless Night
    Octopus ~ 1970 ~ Restless Night
    genre: psych
    country: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers,  size: 254 mb)
    time: 49'18"
    Tapestry of Delights:
    This Hatfield band began life as The Cortinas recording one 45 on Polydor under that monicker. Their album, which was produced by Tony Murray of The Troggs who discovered them, is now extremely rare. Musically we're talking pretty commercial pop/rock with just the occasional hint of psychedelia. The opening cut, The River concludes with some good fuzz guitar; Council Plans has some nice organ touches; the title track has an unusual intro but is very ordinary otherwise; Thief is faster than the other material on the album; but the best track is the finale Tide. Most of the music though is quite commercial pop typified by songs like Queen And The Pauper. The final verdict: go for the See For Miles reissue which includes their competent, poppish debut 45, but save your money on the now extremely rare original album. ~ (Vernon Joynson/Marcelo Lilienheim)

    01. "The River" 4:25
    02. "Summer" 3:06
    03. "Council Plans" 3:39
    04. "Restless Night" 4:03
    05. "Thief" 3:41
    06. "Queen And The Pauper" 3:40
    07. "I Say" 1:56
    08. "John's Rock" 2:41
    09. "Rainchild" 3:07
    10. "Tide" 5:40
    11. "Laugh At The Poor Man" 3:17
    12. "Girlfriend" 2:59
    13. "The River" (single version) 3:27
    14. "Thief" (single version) 3:37
    Nigel Griggs / bass, guitar 
    Paul Griggs / lead vocals, guitar, piano
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3235 | Rating: 1.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 8
    8 FRAGIFOGG   (23.03.2012 21:43) [Материал]
    avatarAnother jewel, thanks

    7 adamus67   (10.01.2011 00:51) [Материал]
    avatarGreat great album,thanks for sharing this & introducing it to more people!

    6 cudawaver   (17.12.2010 02:23) [Материал]
    avatar@ Dan - yeah but the old saying "careful what you wish for...you may just get it" comes to mind - the Rev-Ola version of this includes two live tracks "I Am The Walrus" and Edvard Grieg's "Peer Gynt Suite" that are very interesting

    5 Eric   (12.12.2010 03:35) [Материал]
    avatarThanks o.e., believe it or not as many times as I've seen this album throughout the years I never got it.

    4 Dan   (12.12.2010 03:29) [Материал]
    avatarThis is very Beatlesy and very cool.

    3 vlad005   (11.12.2010 12:43) [Материал]
    Very good post! Thx!!!!

    2 Dan   (11.12.2010 04:08) [Материал]
    avatarThat's the first sexy octopus I've ever seen!

    1 docmusic   (10.12.2010 21:03) [Материал]
    Thanks, good album

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads