R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 1 » Pantheon - 1972 - Orion
    Pantheon - 1972 - Orion
    Pantheon - 1972 - Oriongenre: prog, canterbury
    country: netherlands
    quality : lossless (separate flac, cue, log, booklet scans)
    time: 48'11" size: 339 mb
    issue: 2001

    Orion is one of the most collectable items on the revered Vertigo "Swirl" label. It was always one of the hardest to track down due to it only being released in their native Netherlands. 
    Pantheon are an instrumental progressive rock group with focus on flute, sax and organ and a dazzling, jazzy style rhythm section. Short tracks like "Daybreak" and "Anais" sound like outtakes from a Focus session with beautiful melodies carried by flute. Where Pantheon really shine are on long songs like "Apocalyps", a jaw dropping composition. Carried by at least two melodies you will be whistling for days, the track goes through multiple movements with sax and organ leading the charge. The complex bass and drum work is startling as well the addition of electric guitar, flute and wordless voice adds to the many ideas on display. It is exactly this sense of melody that is missing in most of today's music (underground or commercial). Afterwards, the whimsical short "The Madman" introduces the 19 minute title track. Everything that makes Orion special is highlighted here. The complex instrumental arrangements, the strong comprehension of melody, the variation in instrumentation (organ, piano, synthesizer, sax, flute, choral vocals, acoustic and electric guitar) and different styles (jazz, baroque, rock). It's a whirlwind journey and worth every listening second. A still unknown classic and now everyone has a chance to be a part of it.

    01 - Daybreak 2:34
    02 - Anais 4:59
    03 - Apocalyps 10:55
    04 - The Madman 1:22
    05 - Orion 19:30
    06 - I Want To Know 2:45
    07 - Masturbation 2:38
    08 - Anais (single version) 3:27

    Ruud Woutersen / organ, spinet, piano, ARP synthesizer, vocals
    Albert Veldkamp / electric guitar, bass guitar
    Hans Boer / flute, saxophone, vocals
    Rob Verhoeven / drums, percussion

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2252 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads