R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2015 » January » 5 » Quarteto 1111 ~ 1974 ~ Onde, Quando, Como, Porquê, Cantamos Pessoas Vivas
    Quarteto 1111 ~ 1974 ~ Onde, Quando, Como, Porquê, Cantamos Pessoas Vivas
    Quarteto 1111 ~ 1974 ~ Onde, Quando, Como, Porquê, Cantamos Pessoas Vivasgenre: prog
    state: portugal
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers, 227 mb)
    time: 29'54"

    Quarteto 1111 was founded in 1967 in Estoril and is one of the most influential progressive rock and psychedelic rock bands in Portugal. Originally formed by Miguel Artur da Silveira (Drums), José Cid (Vocals and Keyboard), António Moniz Pereira (Guitar) and Jorge Moniz Pereira (Bass). Latter members included Tozé Brito, Mike Seargeant and Mário Rui Terra.
    It was one of the many musical groups inspired in The Shadows. Originally called the Mystery Group (Conjunto Mistério), the name later changed to 1111 Quartet (Quarteto 1111). The name was inspired by phone number of the band's rehearsal place, at the drummer's house.
    José Cid was the band leader, composer, keyboard player and lead singer. The rest of the band had a classic formation influenced by the usual Beatles line-up, but with a sound and song structure that reminds the early Moody Blues.
    Quarteto 1111 was the first symphonic rock band in Portugal.
    Since 1968-69 they got media attention through a hit single, "El Rei D. Sebastião", actually with lyrics about the theme of the lost Portuguese king, who supposedly died in the fields of Morocco during the battle of Alcácer-Quibir (a loss that would eventually lead to Portugal losing its independence to Spain). All the myths related with the return of King Sebastian — a quite anchored Portuguese myth — were fairly treated in this song. The harpsichord made its first appearance in Portuguese rock music. A single with the English version of the song was published in Great Britain.

    The following works continued in the same vein, combining melodic songs with newly progressive instruments, namely the Mellotron.
    Later on the band evolved to a pop sound, with José Cid and Tozé Brito pursuing solo careers. At the same time the pop oriented parallel project "Green Windows" also occupied Cid and some of the band members.
    The band (with Michel, Tozé Brito and Mike Seargeant) briefly reunited in 24 November 2007, during a José Cid show, where the rest of the band joined him onstage and played four songs from their work.

    1. Onde, Quando, Como, Porquê, Cantamos Pessoas Vivas - Part 1 (13:58)
    2. Onde, Quando, Como, Porquê, Cantamos Pessoas Vivas - Part 2 (16:52)

    Guilherme Inês / drums
    José Cid / vocals and keyboards
    António Moniz Pereira / guitar
    Mike Sergeant / guitar 
    Tó Zé Brito / bass guitar

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 985 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads