R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » April » 29 » Raw Material - 1970 - Raw Material
    Raw Material - 1970 - Raw Material
    Raw Material - 1970 - Raw Materialgenre: prog
    country: uk
    quality : lossless (ape, cue, log, scans)
    time: 44'20" size: 225 mb

    Tapestry Of Delights:
    A progressive rock band whose albums in particular are now very rare and sought-after. Mike Fletcher had earlier been in Steam and Cliff Harewood later joined from Welcome, but neither of these bands made it onto vinyl. Some members were later in Shoot and Dave Green was in Deep Feeling.
    The 'A' side of their eponymous album includes three strong, long tracks: Time And Illusion, which had a long instrumental break and vibraphone on leading role; I'd Be Delighted, which featured strong vocals, good flute and sax work and Fighting Cock, which builds in strength after a mellow beginning. The 'B' side is not so good, although the finale, Destruction Of America, is a poetry recitation with unidentified orchestral backing.
    Time Is Rare is better, with good progressive pieces based on heavy guitar and sax riffs or sax riffs and keyboard chords. Ice Queen includes frozen wind sounds and a slightly discordant flute solo. Its most sophisticated composition is Empty Houses, which has some inspired melodies and strong vocals. Insolent Lady has a slow, mellow beginning with acoustic guitar and flute. This gives way to a piano break which in turn evolves into progressive rock with guitar and sax riffs, although this becomes so repetitious as to be boring near the end. Miracle Worker is mainly based on Dave Brubeck's Take Five rhythm. Religion is based around more sax and guitar riffs. Finally, Sun God has some mellow, melodic moments with acoustic guitar, flute and electric guitar reminiscent of early Pink Floyd; a short heavy rock break and an instrumental part with some guitar leads in a more psychedelic vein. Overall a good but not a great album. ~ (VJ/CA).

    01. "Time And Illusion" 7:32
    02. "I'd Be Delighted" 5:08
    03. "Fighting Cock" 3:49
    04. "Pear On An Apple Tree" 3:01
    05. "Future Recollections" 3:55
    06. "Traveller Man" 6:15
    07. "Destruction Of America" 2:21
    08. "Time And Illusion (single version)" 3:11
    09. "Hi There Hallelujah" 2:46
    10. "Bobo's Party" 3:14
    11. "Days Of The Fighting Cocks (single version)" 3:09
    Colin Catt / lead vocals, keyboards
    Mike Fletcher / saxophone, flute, vocals
    Dave Green / guitar 
    Phil Gunn / bass, guitar 
    Paul Young / drums, percussion
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2405 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads