R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2015 » April » 21 » Rupert Hine ~ 1971 ~ Pick up a bone David Maciver
    Rupert Hine ~ 1971 ~ Pick up a bone David Maciver
    Rupert Hine ~ 1971 ~ Pick up a bone David Macivergenre: art, pop
    state: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, cover) 
    time: 49:37 size: 309 mb

    In the early sixties, Hine formed half of the folk duo Rupert & David. The duo performed in pubs and clubs and occasionally shared the stage with a then-unknown Paul Simon. The duo's one released single (on the Decca label in 1965) was a cover of Simon's "The Sounds of Silence". The single was not a success, but was notable for featuring a young Jimmy Page on guitar and Herbie Flowers on bass.
    Hine released two albums under his own name in the early 70s: Pick Up a Bone (1971) and Unfinished Picture (1973).
    In 1973, Hine, along with guitarist Mark Warner, bassist John G. Perry (then of Caravan) and drummer Trevor Morais (formerly of The Peddlers) formed the band Quantum Jump, releasing two albums, Quantum Jump (1976) and Barracuda (1977). After a re-release of the track "Lone Ranger" (from Quantum Jump) became an unexpected UK Top Ten hit in 1979, a third album – Mixing, a reworking of tracks selected from the first two Quantum Jump albums – was released.
    After Quantum Jump disbanded, Hine released a trilogy of albums under his own name, including Immunity (1981); Waving Not Drowning (1982); and The Wildest Wish to Fly (1983). The American release of Wildest Wish dropped two tracks, radically reworked two others and incorporated two tracks from 1981's Immunity – including "Misplaced Love", which featured a guest vocal by Marianne Faithfull and had been a minor hit in Australia, reaching number 14 on the charts. In 1985, Hine wrote and produced much of the soundtrack for the black comedy film Better Off Dead.

    Hine subsequently recorded three albums under the name Thinkman, which was conceived as a "virtual band" – essentially a solo Hine project with actors (including a then-unknown Julian Clary) employed to give the illusion of a larger group. Thinkman's debut, The Formula, was released in 1985. Though the actors portraying the band did not appear on the album, it did feature contributions from Jamie West-Oram from The Fixx and Stewart Copeland from The Police. Lisa Dalbello provided guest vocals on the title track. A second album, Life is a Full-Time Occupation, was released in 1988. A third and final album, Hard Hat Zone, was released in 1990.

    01. Landscape 5:15
    02. Ass All 3:40
    03. Me You Mine 5:26
    04. Scarecrow 3:30
    05. Kerosene 7:28
    06. Running Away 4:54
    07. Medicine Munday 3:22
    08. More Than One, Less Then Five 4:14
    09. Boo Boo's Faux Pas 6:28
    10. Pick Up A Bone 3:51
    11. Instant Muse 1:29

    Rhythm section:
    Rupert Hine—Vocals, Guitar, Harmonica
    Simon Jeffes—Acoustic, Electric & Slide Guitars
    David MacIver—Guitar
    Peter Robinson—Piano, Organ
    Pete Morgan—Acoustic & Electric Bass
    Terry Cox—Drums
    Featured Musicians
    Clive Hicks, Eric Ford & Joe Moretti—Guitars
    Steve Hammond—Electric Guitar & Banjo
    Paul Buckmaster—Electric Cello
    Eddie Mordue & Roy Willox—Sax/Flute
    Raul Mayora—Congas, Bells & etc.'s
    Roger Glover—Tambourine
    Barry de Sousa—Drums & introducing—The MacIver-Hine Chorale

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 1190 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads