R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 1 » Shankar - 1979 - Touch Me There
    Shankar - 1979 - Touch Me There
    Shankar - 1979 - Touch Me There
    genre: fusion
    country: us
    quality : lossless (ape, cue, log, scans)
    time: 36'04" size: 266 mb
    issue: Zappa (1992)

    Touch Me There is a 1979 album by L. Shankar (credited as "Shankar"). Shankar performed acoustic and 5-string Barcus Berry electric violin, string orchestra, and provided vocals on the track "Knee Deep in Heaters." Shankar composed all the music for the album, except on two tracks which he composed music with Frank Zappa, and further served as an arranger and orchestrator on the record. The album was produced by Frank Zappa who also served as the album's lyricist and who co-wrote, with Shankar, the music for the tracks "Dead Girls of London" and "No More Mr. Nice Girl."
    The song "Dead Girls of London" was released as a 12" maxi single on September 24, 1979.
    In the final version of the song, "Dead Girls Of London" the lyrics are sung by Zappa and collaborator Ike Willis. Vicky Blumenthal provides the chorus on "Dead Girls Of London," "Knee-Deep In Heaters," and "No More Mr. Nice Girl," while Jenny Lautrec sings the lyrics to the album's title track, "Touch Me There," and Shankar himself sings the lyrics to the album's final track, "Knee-Deep In Heaters."
    The lyrics for the album's opening track, "Dead Girls Of London" were originally supposed to be sung by Van Morrison, but since Morrison was signed to the Warner Bros. Records record label who Zappa was in a legal dispute with at the time, Zappa was unable to release the song on his label with Morrison's vocals, and so they were re-recorded (this early version did appear on Frank Zappa bootlegs, such as "Another Cheap Aroma").

    1. Dead Girls Of London 5:23
    2. Little Stinker 3:20
    3. Touch Me There 3:03
    4. No More Mr. Nice Girl 8:16
    5. Love Gone Away 3:33
    6. Darlene 2:56
    7. Windy Morning 3:57
    8. Knee-Deep In Heaters 5:38

    SHANKAR: Acoustic and 5 string Barcus Berry electric violin, vocals and string orchestra
    PHIL PALMER: Mandolin, acoustic and electric guitars
    JAMES LASCELLES: Fender Rhodes, organ, acoustic piano, synthesizer
    JACK EMBLOW: Accordion on "No More Mr. Nice Girl"
    FZ & IKE WILLIS: "Dead Girls Of London"
    VICKY BLUMENTHAL: Chorus on "Dead Girls Of London" "Knee-Deep In Heaters','"No More Mr. Nice Girl"
    JENNY LAUTREC: "Touch MeThere"
    SHANKAR: "Knee-Deep In Heaters"

    Basic Arrangement: Ron Frangipane except for "Little Stinker" and "Darlene"
    Basic Arrangement for "Little Stinker" "Love Gone Away" and "Darlene" by Shankar

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 1328 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads