R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2011 » January » 10 » Silvio Rodriguez ~ 1970 ~ Cold Fact
    Silvio Rodriguez ~ 1970 ~ Cold Fact
    Silvio Rodriguez ~ 1970 ~ Cold Fact
    genre: psych
    country: us
    quality: lossless (ape,  cue, log, scans)
    time: 32'22" size: 167  mb
    Fuzz Flowers $ Acid:
    Until recently a mysterious figure, Sixto Rodriguez was born in Detroit, Michigan in 1942 to Mexican immigrant parents - his first name chosen because he was their sixth child. Possessed of an distinctive voice, Rodriguez was a singer / songwriter steeped in the folk and blues traditions of his times and comparisons with Dylan and Donovan are inevitable and not undeserved. However, a profoundly working class upbringing in this industrial - and musical - heartland helped to make his work quite unique.
    In April 1967 he recorded five original songs for the local Impact label. The 'A' side of the resulting single, I'll Slip Away (later re-cut in the mid-seventies), was an atmospheric number with considerable commercial potential, the 'B' side, You'd Like To Admit It, a contrasting folk-rocker in which the singer berated an ex-girlfriend for going of with a 'hick'. Unfortunately it became Impact's penultimate release before the label went under. Of the remaining tracks Forget It would later be re-recorded for his first LP and To Whom It May Concern for the second, but the intriguingly titled That Discoteque remains unreleased in any form.
    Undaunted, two years later Rodriguez found himself signed to the newly founded Hollywood label, Sussex (Bill Withers' first label), and the classic Cold Fact LP emerged as their first release. Recorded in 1969 and skilfully produced by two other Impact refugees, Mike Theodore and Dennis Coffey, it opened with the trippy but dark Sugar Man. Over a subtle backing of acoustic guitar and electronic effects Rodriguez's lyrics were starkly honest.
    01. "Sugar Man" 3:50
    02. "Only Good For Conversation" 2:24
    03. "Crucify Your Mind" 2:33
    04. "This Is Not A Song, Its An Outburst: Or, The Establishment Blues" 2:07
    05. "Hate Street Dialogue" 2:34
    06. "Forget It" 1:57
    07. "Inner City Blues" 3:27
    08. "I Wonder" 2:34
    09. "Jane S Piddy" 2:36
    10. "Gommorah (A Nursery Rhyme)" 2:21
    11. "Rich Folks Hoax" 3:03
    12. "Like Janis" 2:56
    SIXTO RODRIGUEZ acc. gtr
    MIKE THEODORE keyb'ds
    SIXTO RODRIGUEZ acc. gtr
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2213 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 3
    3 adamus67   (12.01.2011 02:12)
    avatarI've gotta check it out

    2 aldotorre   (11.01.2011 10:21)
    avatarI discovered Rodriguez some times ago.
    Sugar Man is one of the best song of this album.
    The story of this singer is really interesting.
    Thank you

    1 Dan   (11.01.2011 05:32)
    avatarThis artist is definitely interesting.

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads