R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » April » 25 » Steeleye Span - 2003 - The Lark In The Morning
    Steeleye Span - 2003 - The Lark In The Morning
    Steeleye Span - 2003 - The Lark In The MorningStyle: folk
    Country: uk
    Audio: lossless (ape, cue, log, booklet scans)
    Size: 734 mb
    Year: 2003 ( 2cd compilation, recorded in '70-'80)

    Tapestry of Delights:
    Steeleye Span were at the forefront of folk-rock in Britain during the seventies. They formed in 1969 when Ashley Hutchings, former bassist with Fairport Convention, who'd originally wanted to call the group Middlemarch Wait, met up with Tim Hart and Maddy Prior, a popular folk duo who'd recorded three albums and Gay and Terry Woods, who'd played in an electric folk band called Sweeney's Men. This line-up rehearsed in Wiltshire and recorded a debut album in London but then split up without gigging when it became apparent that the Woods were incompatible with the rest. The Woods joined Dr. Strangely Strange in May 1970 and later formed The Woods Band whose albums were put out on Polydor. Mike Warth tells me that their first album is a real folk-rock masterpiece. If there was friction in the band it isn't reflected in the quality of the music. Apparently the shared vocals of Gay Woods and Maddy Prior are astonishing and the selection of traditional material is of the highest quality.
    Martin Carthy, a significant figure on the traditional folk circuit and fiddle player Peter Knight were drafted into the new line-up. This incarnation gigged extensively and recorded two albums. They enhanced their growing reputation as part of the burgeoning UK folk scene but didn't break through commercially. They lasted until November 1971 when Ashley Hutchings left to do session work before eventually forming Albion Country Band. Martin Carthy also returned to his solo career. These changes marked a major upheaval in their development with their producer and manager Sandy Robertson leaving too and Jo Lustig taking over their management.

    Steeleye Span - 2003 - The Lark In The Morning inside

    A new line-up was put together incorporating former accountant Rob Johnson and bassist Rick Kemp, who'd worked with Mike Chapman. They now embarked on the start of their most successful phase and their album Below The Salt spawned a hit single with their accapella version of the Latin hymn, Gaudete, Gaudete. Shortly after Charisma released Individually And Collectively, a compilation of material from their second and third albums, which included solo works from Carthy, Hart and Prior.
    Nigel Pegrum, from Gnidrolog, was added to the band to give them a drummer for the first time, and they grew from strength to strength with Parcel Of Rogues, Now We Are Six (produced by Jethro Tull's Ian Anderson, which spawned Thomas The Rhymer, one of their finest songs), Commoner's Crown (which featured Peter Sellers playing ukelele on New York Girls) and All Around My Hat, their most successful album of all. The title track became a major British hit single and their first record to enter the US Charts.
    When the band eventually gave up the ghost in March 1978, Tim Hart and Maddy Prior both embarked on solo careers.
    Steeleye Span were the type of band you either loved or hated, but along with Fairport Convention they were at the pinnacle of British folk-rock in the seventies.

    01. "A Calling-On Song" 1:13
    02. "The Blacksmith" 3:40
    03. "Fisherman's Wife" 3:13
    04. "The Blackleg Miner" 2:46
    05. "The Dark-Eyed Sailor" 5:58
    06. "Copshawholme Fair" 2:36
    07. "All Things Are Quite Silent" 2:37
    08. "The Hills of Greenmore" 4:01
    09. "My Johnny Was a Shoemaker" 1:11
    10. "Lowlands of Holland" 6:00
    11. "Twa Corbies" 2:07
    12. "One Night as I Lay on My Bed" 3:32
    13. "The Blacksmith" 4:46
    14. "Cold, Haily, Windy Night" 4:36
    15. "Bryan O' Lynn/The Hag With the Money" 3:18
    16. "Prince Charlie Stuart" 4:15
    17. "Boys of Bedlam" 4:19
    18. "False Knight on the Road" 2:44
    Cd2 (58'24):
    01. "The Lark In The Morning" 4:32
    02. "Female Drummer" 4:03
    03. "The King" 1:29
    04. "Lovely On The Water" 5:21
    05. "Rave On" 2:10
    06. "The Gower Wassail" 5:26
    07. "Jigs: Paddy Clancey's Jig-Willie Clancy's Fancy" 3:10
    08. "Four Nights Drunk" 3:05
    09. "When I Was On Horseback" 6:13
    10. "Marrowbones" 4:27
    11. "Captain Coulston" 5:04
    12. "Medley - Reels: Dowd's Favourite-Ј10 Float-The Morning Dew" 3:44
    13. "Wee Weaver" 2:40
    14. "Skewball" 3:30
    15. "General Taylor" 3:30
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3343 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 1
    1 joe   (17.11.2010 23:32) [Материал]
    you are GREAT


    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads