R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2015 » March » 11 » Stories ~ 1972 ~ Stories + 1973 ~ About Us
    Stories ~ 1972 ~ Stories + 1973 ~ About Us
    Stories ~ 1972 ~ Stories + 1973 ~ About Usgenre: soft
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers, 460 mb) 
    time: 75:58

    Stories was an early 1970s rock and pop music band based in New York. The band consisted of keyboardist Michael Brown, bassist/vocalist Ian Lloyd, guitarist Steve Love, and drummer Bryan Madey, and had a Number 1 hit with a cover of Hot Chocolate's "Brother Louie.
    Lloyd (b. Lloyd Buonconsiglio, 1947, Seattle) and Brown (b. Michael Lookofsky, April 25, 1949, Brooklyn) were introduced by their fathers, Peter Buonconsiglio and Harry Lookofsky, two old friends who had worked together for years as session violinists. Lloyd had been singing for years and had attracted local notice recording as Lloyd London. Brown had led, wrote and played with his group The Left Banke, which had made the U.S. charts with "Walk Away Renee" (#5, 1966) and "Pretty Ballerina" (#15, 1967).
    The two set about becoming a Beatlesque band. They recruited New Yorkers Love and Madey and located an interested record label in Kama Sutra. A self-titled album and a single – "I'm Coming Home" (#42, 1972) – followed.
    Afterward, the band started work on their second LP with producer Eddie Kramer, About Us (1973). After the album's release, Brown left the band to pursue another project.
    About Us did relatively well, but it did not initially include the group's new single, "Brother Louie." The song about a black girl and her white boyfriend had been a UK hit for Hot Chocolate earlier that year. (The group's new bassist, Kenny Aaronson, was responsible for the Motown-like bass line that helped give the song its funky character.) Once issued as the Stories' fifth single, it became a big hit, reaching No. 1 in the United States. It spent two weeks at No. 1 and remained in the Billboard chart for 18 weeks, with an R.I.A.A. gold disc awarded on 22 August 1973.
    "All of a sudden," Lloyd explained to Triad's Russel Wiener, "we had a big hit with a song that did not represent our music and the direction we were trying to go in. I didn't think it would affect me that much, but it did. Consequently, I decided that I had to remove myself from that, so that I could come back and show what I really can do."
    A new version of the LP was issued which did include the hit single, and the album proceeded to sell well. In some cases old copies of the LP which did not include the single were shipped inside album covers that did list the single.

    Lloyd did remain with Stories for one more album – Traveling Underground (1973). Bassist Kenny Aaronson (b. April 14, 1952, Brooklyn) (formerly of Dust) and keyboardist Ken Bichel (b. 1945, Detroit) stepped in to fill the void. The new group made the Billboard Hot 100 with "Mammy Blue" (#50, 1973) and "If It Feels Good, Do It" which was a cover of a song by the band Climax (#88, 1974). Before the group's break-up, Love left and was replaced by Richie Ranno.
    Lloyd has since recorded several solo albums and done studio work for Foreigner, Fotomaker, and Peter Frampton. Lloyd was also one of the first artists to cover songs by Bryan Adams, which led to the 1984 formation of Fast Forward, involving several persons directly or indirectly associated with Adams. The resulting album, Living in Fiction, featured several of Adams' songs. Brown went on to form The Beckies, another Beatlesque band. Love reappeared in the early 1980s as Landscape. Madey, after a two album stay with the Earl Slick Band, provided accompaniment for Peggy Lee. Aaronson has remained busy. He was co-founder (with Carmine Appice's brother Vinnie) of Axis, and he did sessions for Hall & Oates, Billy Squier, ex-Mountain Leslie West, Foghat, Bob Dylan, Tom Guerra, and Rick Derringer. Bichel has done session work, and so has Love. Ranno found later success as a member of Starz.

    01. Hello People 3:49
    02. I'm Coming Home 2:41
    03. Winter Scenes 4:21
    04. Step Back 3:22
    05. You Told Me 3:08
    06. Saint James 3:08
    07. Kathleen 3:16
    08. Take Cover 3:03
    09. Nice to Have You Here 3:26
    10. High and Low 4:27

    11. Darling 2:46
    12. Don't Ever Let Me Down 2:23
    13. Love Is in Motion 3:17
    14. Hey France 2:58
    15. Please, Please 5:03
    16. Changes Have Begun 3:36
    17. Circles 1:37
    18. Believe Me 3:38
    19. Words 2:26
    20. Top of the City 3:00
    21. Down Time Blooze 1:20
    22. What Comes After 2:02
    23. Brother Louie 3:54

    24. Another Love 3:16

    MICHAEL BROWN - keyb'ds
    IAN LLOYD - bs, vcls
    STEPHEN LOVE - gtr, vcls, bs
    BRYAN MADEY - drms

    see also: 
    Stories ~ 1989 ~ Walk Away From the Left Banke Plus
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 1091 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads