R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2015 » February » 11 » Terje Rypdal ~ 1968 ~ Bleak House
    Terje Rypdal ~ 1968 ~ Bleak House
    Terje Rypdal ~ 1968 ~ Bleak Housegenre: fusion
    state: norway
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers, 213 mb)
    time: 33'10"

    Scented Gardens of Mind:
    Starting with crude Shadows-instrumentals, Rypdal soon progressed to beat and psychedelia before discovering the possibilities of the jazz-rock hybrid around 1968-69. His first album Bleak House (1968) was recorded in this transitional phase, showcasing countless possible paths to follow. After a period of academic music study, he joined Jan Garbarek Group (fronted by the well-known sax player). He played energetic free-jazz on the albums Afric Pepperbird (1970) and Sart (1971). His own group Min Bul experimented with a similar free- jazz, although more centered around the electric guitar.
    By the time of his 1971 album (this might be regarded as his first real solo album) he was settling down to play more accessible jazz-rock with a very distinctive style. Even though Rypdal has always sought new musical horizons, his basic formula was now in place.
    Whenever I Seem To Be Far Away (1974) was a superb effort, combining progressive jazz-rock (two dramatic tracks with mellotron and electric guitar) and a classical piece for symphony orchestra and guitar.
    However, Rypdal's greatest masterpiece was Odyssey (1975), a double album with a perplexing cool sound filling the listener with images of undulating northern lights and wilderness. Tides such as "Darkness Falls", "Midnite" and "Adagio" also demonstrate the calm, dark and reflective mood of his music.
    Terje Rypdal is one of the best and most versatile musicians from Norway, regardless of genre and is one of the few Norwegian artists to have a significant international profile. He wrote his first opera "Orfeus Snur Seg I Graven Og Ser På Eurydike" in 1972 and his first symphony in 1975. He has also written countless concertos and string quartets, These works have some stylistic similarities to the late Romantic period, influenced by Mahler and Pendercki among others.

    01. Dead mans tale 7:09
    02. Wes 4:19
    03. Winter serenade 6:09
    04. Bleak house 7:08
    05. Sonority 5:24
    06. A feeling of harmony 3:02

    Terje Rypdal - Guitar, Flute, Vocals

    Jan Garbarek - sax, flute
    Christian Reim - organ, piano
    Terje Venaas - bass
    Jon Christensen - drums
    Tom Karlsen - drums

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 665 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads