R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2014 » October » 2 » the Meters ~ 1969 ~ The Meters
    the Meters ~ 1969 ~ The Meters
    the Meters ~ 1969 ~ The Metersgenre: funk
    state: us
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, covers,  size: 234 mb)
    time: 43'11"

    The Meters are an American funk band based in New Orleans, Louisiana. The Meters performed and recorded their own music from the late 1960s until 1977. The band played an influential role as backing musicians for other artists, including Lee Dorsey, Robert Palmer, and Dr. John. The Meters acted as the house band for Allen Toussaint's New Orleans soul classics of the 1960s and are responsible for bringing New Orleans second line grooves into popular music.
    While The Meters rarely enjoyed significant mainstream success, they are considered, along with artists like James Brown, one of the progenitors of funk music and their work is influential on many other bands, both their contemporaries and modern musicians working in the funk idiom.
    The Meters' sound is defined by an earthy combination of tight melodic grooves and highly syncopated New Orleans "second-line" rhythms under highly charged guitar and keyboard riffing. Their songs "Cissy Strut" and "Look-Ka Py Py" are considered funk classics. In October 2013, The Meters were announced as Rock and Roll Hall of Fame nominees.

    1. "Cissy Strut" 3:06
    2. "Here Comes the Meter Man" 2:55
    3. "Cardova"   Neville, Nocentelli, Porter 4:35
    4. "Live Wire" 2:40
    5. "Art" 2:35
    6. "Sophisticated Cissy" 2:56
    7. "Ease Back" 3:14
    8. "6v6 La" 2:26
    9. "Sehorn's Farm" 2:31
    10. "Ann" 2:46
    11. "Stormy" Buddy Buie, J.R. Cobb 3:40
    12. "Sing a Simple Song" Sly Stone 3:06

    13. "The Look of Love"  3:39
    14. "Soul Machine"  3:28

    All songs written and composed by Art Neville, Ziggy Modeliste, Leo Nocentelli and George Porter, Jr.; except where indicated. 

    Art Neville - organ, keyboards
    Ziggy Modeliste - drums
    Leo Nocentelli - guitar, vocals
    George Porter, Jr. - bass guitar

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 910 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 1
    1 perce   (06.10.2014 21:59) [Материал]
    Cheers - got some of their other material but not this album, looking forward to listening.

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads