R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » December » 18 » the Michael Yonkers Band ~ 1968 ~ Microminiature Love
    the Michael Yonkers Band ~ 1968 ~ Microminiature Love
    the Michael Yonkers Band ~ 1968 ~ Microminiature Love
    genre: acid psych
    country: us
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans)
    time: 48'22" size: 301 mb
    A cult artist the likes of  Captain Beefheartthe Fugs and the Godz, Minneapolis' Michael Yonkers has been toiling in obscurity since the late '60s. With a solid foundation of surf rock and garage, Yonkers pushes the limits of distortion with guitar and effects modifications, and a raw and blunt approach to underground rock & roll. Born in 1947, Yonkers began playing guitar in the early '60s. Raised on Link Wray and the Trashmen, he officially started his music career as the leader of Michael & the Mumbles who played proms and dances in the Twin Cities area. Constantly redefining and stretching the limits of their sound, the group eventually evolved into Michael Yonkers Band with Michael's brother Jim on drums and Tom Wallfred on bass. In 1967, Yonkers cut his Telecaster down to a plank and began the other modifications on his equipment that would solidify the band's unique approach. Soon, Minneapolis music impresario Peter Steinberg landed the band a contract with Sire Records -- not unusual for a time when major labels were combing the underground for bands like the Mothers of Invention. Microminiature Love was the group's first full-length and was intended to be released in 1968, but for reasons still unknown, the deal with Sire fell apart and the band broke up, their brilliant debut left languishing on a shelf. In 1971, Yonkers' back was broken in an on-the-job-accident at an electronics warehouse -- a twist of fate that led to years of exploratory surgery that only made matters worse, and an allergic reaction to X-ray dye that left the guitarist with a degenerative spinal cord condition. But Yonkers kept recording, and released three solo albums on his own label in 1974 -- Grimwood (recorded in 1969), Michael Lee Yonkers (recorded in 1972) and Goodby Sunball (recorded in 1973) -- as well as Borders of My Mind with Jim Woehrle. Thy Will Be Done followed in 1976 and then Yonkers was relatively unheard of for two decades. In 1997, Get Hip Records released a compilation of songs recorded at Richfield, Minnesota's Dove Studios called Free Flight: Unreleased Dove Recording Studio Cuts 1964-69 which contained two songs from Microminiature Love, "Puppeting" (which was mislabeled as "Microminiature Love") and the anti-Vietnam war song "Kill the Enemy." These stripped-down, seminal art rock tracks caught the attention of De Stijl's Clint Simonson, who spent over a year searching for Yonkers. Simonson released the virtually forgotten Minneapolis psychedelic-garage album Microminiature Love in 2002. The vinyl-only edition quickly became a record collector favorite, and in 2003 Sub Pop put out the CD of this strange, lost album complete with six bonus tracks recorded circa 1968. ~ Charles Spano, Rovi
    01. "Jasontown" 2:41
    02. "Microminiature Love" 3:02
    03. "Boy In The Sandbox" 3:46
    04. "Smile Awhile" 4:25
    05. "Returning" 3:50
    06. "Puppeting" 3:08
    07. "Kill The Enemy" 3:40
    08. "The Clock Is Running" 4:08
    09. "My House" 3:12
    10. "Hush Hush" 3:50
    11. "Sold America" 3:37
    12. "The Thunder Speaks" 4:43
    13. "Scat Jam" 4:20
    Michael Yonkers (Guitar, Vocals, Engineer, Reissue Producer, Electronics)
    Jim Yunker (Drums)
    Tom Wallfred (Bass)
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2401 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 9
    9 amigodelblues   (13.04.2015 20:32) [Материал]
    avatarmuchas gracias, vamos a darle una buena escuchada. Saludos

    8 Anacho   (10.04.2011 05:11) [Материал]
    avatarGreat psych-rock!

    7 sebassmoore   (26.02.2011 01:08) [Материал]
    avatarExellents thanks

    6 ipoo8446   (10.02.2011 01:22) [Материал]
    avatargreat thanks!!!

    5 adamus67   (08.01.2011 09:56) [Материал]
    avatarThanks for sharing!

    4 FASTEDDIE   (19.12.2010 17:50) [Материал]

    3 hamsterbacke   (19.12.2010 14:48) [Материал]
    great sounds - thanks a lot

    2 kavarnis   (19.12.2010 01:52) [Материал]
    avatarThanks for the post. I'm not familiar with this group but from what i read i thought to give it a try.

    1 olegelagin   (18.12.2010 19:38) [Материал]
    avatarsuperb excellent psychedelia fly

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads