R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2016 » February » 29 » the Soft Machine ~ 2003 ~ BBC Radio 1967-1971
    the Soft Machine ~ 2003 ~ BBC Radio 1967-1971
    the Soft Machine ~ 2003 ~ BBC Radio 1967-1971genre: canterbury
    country: uk
    quality: lossless (ape, cue, log, covers)
    time: 1:06'50"+1:00'55" size: 752 mb

    There is no shortage of collections of archive material by the Soft Machine and some of them are pretty good. You just can't beat BBC recordings for good sound quality and meaningful "alternate versions." This first volume covers the group's early years up to the departure of drummer Robert Wyatt, starting with a session from December 1967, when the Softs consisted of Kevin Ayers, Mike Ratledge, and Wyatt. Early demo and live versions of dubious quality of "Clarence in Wonderland," "Certain Kind," or "Hope for Happiness" are in circulation (see Turns On, Vol. 1, for instance), but these recordings are far more superior. A session from 1969 features Wyatt, Ratledge, Hugh Hopper, and Brian Hopper in a torrid medley of "Facelift" and the "Mousetrap" suite, but the jewel of the first disc is indisputably a full-band rendition (Ratledge, Wyatt, and Hugh Hopper) of "Moon in June," one of very few times it was performed as such (the studio version was mostly put together by Wyatt overdubbing all parts). Disc two presents sessions from 1971 with Elton Dean added to the regular lineup. The last track is another "Mousetrap" sequence seguing into "Esther's Nose Job," performed by the short-lived septet lineup (with a brass section formed by Dean, Lyn Dobson, Marc Charig, and Nick Evans). This is the closest thing to a studio recording existing by this particular group and it is well-worth the price of admission. If you are a relative newcomer to the music of Soft Machine and are looking to expand beyond their studio releases, start here before moving on to more obscure live sets. ~ François Couture

    01. "Clarence In Wonderland" 2:57
    02. "We Know What You Mean" 3:11
    03. "Certain Kind" 3:38
    04. "Hope For Happiness" 4:37
    05. "Strangest Scene (AKA Lullaby Letter)" 4:55
    06. "Facelift / Mousetrap / Noisette / Backwards / Mousetrap Reprise" 11:55
    07. "The Moon In June" 13:02
    08. "Instant Pussy" 3:19
    09. "Slightly All The Time / Out Bloody Rageous / Eamonn Andrews" 19:15

    01. "Virtually" 9:58
    02. "Fletcher's Blemish" 12:12
    03. "Neo-Caliban Grides" 7:35
    04. "Dedicated To You But You Weren't Listening " 2:47
    05. "Eamonn Andrews/All White" 7:12
    06. "Mousetrap:Noisette:Backwards:Mousetrap Reprise:Esther's Nose Job" 21:12

    the Soft Machine ~ 2003 ~ BBC Radio 1967-1971 (inlay)

    Kevin Ayers / bass, guitar, voice (tracks 1-5 CD1) 
    Robert Wyatt / drums, voice 
    Mike Ratledge / keyboards 
    Hugh Hopper / bass (tracks 6-9 CD1, CD2) 
    Brian Hopper saxophone, flute (track 6 CD1) 
    Elton Dean / axophone (track 9 CD1, CD2) 
    Marc Charig / trumpet (track 6 CD2) 
    Lyn Dobson / saxophone, flute (track 6 CD2) 
    Nick Evans / trombone (track 6 CD2)

    read also:
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 4917 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 3
    3 mircea1500   (20.06.2018 09:37)
    All links are dead - could you please re-up?

    2 fegica66   (04.07.2017 22:24)
    avatarAny chance to reupload this? Thanks in advance!

    1 slafaro   (02.06.2016 21:17)
    avatarThanks a lot for the FLAC of this early live BBC Soft Machine

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads