R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 2 » Transsylvania Phoenix - 2005 - Baba Novak
    Transsylvania Phoenix - 2005 - Baba Novak

    genre: neo folk
    country: romania
    quality : mp3 256k, covers
    time: 49`13"
    size: 92 mb

    Asbjørnsen - Scented Gardens Of The Mind:

    Phoenix was formed in Timisoara by Nicolae Covaci. A couple of years later they scored a hit with the Beatles-influenced ballad "I Know That You Love Me Too". Throughout the sixties their vinyl output only consisted of 2 EPs, but Phoenix recorded additional material for national Romanian radio and music for the movie "The Canary And The Blizzard". By the time of their first LP (selections from a rock opera named "Those Who Gave Us A Name"), Phoenix had adopted a strong heavy progressive sound with significant folk influences that were unrivalled in most of Eastern Europe. The instrumental parts were superb, full of strong lead guitars (recalling Martin Barre on early Jethro Tull albums), occasional gipsy violin, jazzy fuzz-bass breaks and complex rhythms. In addition, Phoenix used carefully constructed multi-voice vocal arrangements. The predominant folky mood is also supplemented with more heavy and psychedelic moments. Side one contained a long suite of songs dealing with the cycle of the seasons. Side two contained "Negru Vodă", one of their best known songs, opening in a concise and powerful manner but ending up in a long jam. The last track "Pseudo Morgana" had slight oriental influences. This is a classic album among the best ever from the Eastern bloc, conjuring up images from the Transylvanian middle ages.

    Mugur De Fluier (1974) was another strong album building on the elements of the first side of the previous album. It was a continuous suite of haunting songs glued together by the recurring theme "Lasă Lasă".

    Cantofabule (1975) was a highly ambitious and experimental double album on which their musical range had broadened even more. "Invocaţie" and "Zoomahia" even had pulsating synthesizer parts by the new keyboard player Günther Reininger. Other tracks ("Cintic-Lu A Cucuveauă-Lliei") veered in the direction of psychedelic folk-rock. The album also had a very nice sleeve design, picturing various animals in a dream-like scene. These three albums are indispensable for any true Euro-rock collector. Soon after Cantofabule, most of the members fled to Germany and The Netherlands and seem to have left the business. In 1991 they were reunited for some concerts in Romania.

    01 - Zori de zi 3:44
    02 - Fluier in cer 4:31
    03 - Orasul scufundat 4:45
    04 - Pasarea de foc 3:51
    05 - Singur 3:57
    06 - Apocalipsa 4:56
    07 - Baba Novac 4:18
    08 - Haituit 3:23
    09 - To my brothers 4:16
    10 - Orient Express 3:35
    11 - Orujo 4:03
    12 - Mila 2 de langa 3:55

    Acoustic Guitar, Guitar [Lead Guitar] - Cristi Gram , Nicu Covaci
    Backing Vocals - Cristi Gram , Ionut Contras
    Bass - Josef Kappl
    Drums - Ovidiu Lipan
    Percussion - Berti Barbera
    Violin - Mani Neumann
    Vocals - Cristi Gram , Josef Kappl* , Mircea Baniciu , Nicu Covaci
    Lyrics By - Calin Angelescu* (tracks: 7, 11) , Dinu Olarasu* (tracks: 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, 12) , Nicu Covaci* (tracks: 4, 9, 11, 12) , Razvan Voncu* (tracks: 5)
    Music By, Engineer, Producer - Nicu Covaci
    Arranged By - C. Gram* , J. Kappl* , N. Covaci

    Artwork By - Valentin Ioan
    Engineer - Cristi Gram
    Photography - Valentin Ioan
    Recorded By, Mixed By, Mastered By - George Nemeznic
    Co-producer, Engineer - Josef Kappl
    Reissue Producer, Executive Producer - Ionut Contras
    Notes: Cu participarea specială a lui Berti Barbera la percuţie. (With special appearance of Berti Barbera doing the percussion)
    Recorded, mixed and mastered in "Schimbul 3 Studios", Bucharest, Romania
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 1961 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads