R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » October » 8 » Wayne Fontana and The Mindbenders ~ 1964 ~ Wayne Fontana and The Mindbenders + 1965 ~ It's Wayne
    Wayne Fontana and The Mindbenders ~ 1964 ~ Wayne Fontana and The Mindbenders + 1965 ~ It's Wayne
    Wayne Fontana and The Mindbenders ~ 1964 ~ Wayne Fontana and The Mindbenders + 1965 ~ It's Wayne
    genre: beat
    country: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans)
    time: 1:16'18"  size: 295 mb
    misc.: 2001
    Tapestry of Delights:
    Wayne Fontana (whose real name was Glyn Ellis) formed his first outfit, The Jets, a semi-professional combo that worked the Manchester club circuit, whilst working as a telephone engineer. Prior to this he'd played in a school skiffle group, The Velfins. Their first break came when this rough and ready group were spotted playing at Manchester's Oasis Club by Fontana Records talent scout Jack Baverstock. However, at the sound check only Wayne and drummer Rick Rothwell had shown up and they'd had to frantically recruit a couple of substitutes, bassist Robert Land and guitarist Eric Stewart, to complete the band. Basically, the band were competent musicians though a little short on imagination. Fontana decided to name his new backing group The Mindbenders after a psychological horror movie playing at his local cinema.
    Predictably they made their vinyl debut with a series of cover versions. First off was their revival of Fats Domino's Hello Josephine, which scraped into the lower reaches of the Top 50. Their next two discs, For You, For You and Little Darlin', failed to capitalise on their limited early success, and it wasn't until their cover of Ben E. King's Stop Look And Listen that they enjoyed some further modest Chart success.

    Their heady days began when they covered Major Lance's US hit, Um, Um, Um, Um, Um, Um, which had been written by Curtis Mayfield. It propelled them to No 5 in the UK Charts and the more accomplished follow-up, Game Of Love, a Hank Ballard Junior composition won them international acclaim climbing to No 2 in the UK and No 1 in the US, where it became a million-seller. However, their opportunity to capitalise on their US success was largely frustrated by the US Immigration Authorities reluctance to grant them performance visas in the States until they had obtained evidence from 'Billboards' and 'Cash Box' magazines that their single was the topselling US record!
    Their debut album consisted mostly of songs from their live act and a couple of originals including Eric Stewart and Wayne Fontana'sOne More Time. The sales were promising and it peaked No 18 in the UK and No 58 in the US (where it was issued with slightly different tracks).

    01. "She's Got the Power" 2:18
    02. "You Don't Know Me" 2:16
    03. "Git It!" 2:47
    04. "Jaguar and Thunderbird" 2:04
    05. "Certain Girl" 2:45
    06. "One More Time" 2:09
    07. "Where Have You Been" 2:45
    08. "Keep Your Hands Off My Baby" 2:51
    09. "Too Many Tears" 2:09
    10. "Girl Can't Help It" 2:45
    11. "Cops and Robbers" 3:20
    12. "I'm Gonna Be a Wheel Someday" 1:52
    13. "Um, Um, Um, Um, Um [bonus]" 2:31
    14. "Some Other Guy" 3:09
    15. "She's a Rebel " 2:19
    16. "Like I Did" 2:33
    17. "Memphis Tennessee" 2:01
    18. "It's Just a Little Bit Too Late" 2:22
    19. "Shadow Knows" 2:50
    20. "I Remember Love " 2:26
    21. "Skinny Minnie" 3:19
    22. "Honey and Wine" 2:23
    23. "(I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man" 3:50
    24. "Please Stay" 2:18
    25. "Long Time Comin'" 2:09
    26. "Game of Love [Bonus] " 2:09

    BOB LAND bs

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3303 | Rating: 4.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 3
    3 uvob   (06.12.2014 01:20) [Материал]
    Te puede gustar: losslessalbum.net :  the beatles

    2 lplover   (13.12.2010 12:40) [Материал]
    Many thanks for this nice beat cd with some good tracks. This is a welcomed supplementary to my greatest hits compilation.

    1 psychonaut   (08.10.2010 18:45) [Материал]
    Very good! Thank you!! :-)

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads