R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 2 » Akasha - 1977 - Akasha
    Akasha - 1977 - Akasha
    Akasha - 1977 - Akasha
    genre: psych
    country: norway
    quality : mp3 lqvbr, covers
    time: 42`35"
    size: 42 mb

    Very obscure Norwegian progressive in the symphonic / electronic mode. Their only album, is keyboard dominated and is a fine example of euro-styled symphonic progressive. The vocalist is almost a Greg Lake carbon copy.

    Akasha's self-titled album, originally released in Norway on BAT records, is one of those records that sells for mega-bucks in collector circles and makes Mellotron fans drool with childish delight. A quartet, Akasha consisted of Sverre Svendsen (vocals, Mellotron), Kjell Evensen (drums), Arild Andreassen (bass) and Jens Ivar Andreassen (guitars, Mellotron, synth, piano, organ). Mellotron fans will hve no doubt noticed that two Mellotrons are credited but Svendsen only uses his on one track, "Light and Darkness." Akasha consists of eight tracks, lasting anywhere from two to eleven minutes. Most are 5-6 minutes. The eleven minute "Isle of Kawi" is the opener, and is enough to to send 'tron fans into raving fits, as it is featured prominently amidst the abundant synth work. The synth and Mellotron are the dominant instruments, in that order, while the guitar plays a secondary role. Jens Andreassen exploits his synths to the fullest, wrenching out many "experimental" type analog sounds and noises. Just listen to "Bondage" or "Electronic Nightmare" to hear what Andreassen does with filters and oscillators. Titles like those just mentioned, as well as "Death Hymn" and "Light and Darkness," combined with a "dark" production give Akasha's music a distinct Scandinavian feel. The production also gives it a bit of a dated sound, which is why I never fully got into the album. Akasha could have recorded this in 1971 and got away with it, perhaps, but not late 1976. While I worship at the alter of the 'tron and have a particular fondness for Scandinavian prog, Akasha never caught on with me for one reason or another. But, if your mouth is already watering from reading about some of the key elements Akasha offers, then you need to be contacting your favorite prog dealer. -- Mike Taylor
    1. Isle Of Kawi - 11:05
    2. Bondage - 6:20
    3. Recitativ - 1:51
    4. Electronic Nightmare - 2:16
    5. Death Hymn - 5:17
    6. Light And Darkness - 6:28
    7. The Trip - 3:58
    8. Man And The Void - 4:51
    • Sverre Svendsen - vocals; mellotron (on "Light And Darkness")
    • Kjell Evensen - drums
    • Arild Andreassen - bass
    • Jens Ivar Andreassen - guitars; mellotron; synthesizer; piano; organ
    • Tor-Jonny Hansen - words (on"Death Hymn")
    • Bjorn Hugo Gjoen - light; multivisionshow
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3349 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 2
    2 Kent   (05.04.2013 19:54) [Материал]

    Is it possible to get this gem back, with a functioning link?

    Would love to get my ears on it.

    1 massimo   (29.02.2012 20:47) [Материал]
    we are thinking about a reissue on vinyl and cd.

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads