R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 1 » Country Joe & The Fish - 1994 - Live Fillmore West 1969
    Country Joe & The Fish - 1994 - Live Fillmore West 1969
    Country Joe & The Fish - 1994 - Live Fillmore West 1969genre: psych
    country: us
    quality : lossless (flac, cue, log, booklet scans)
    time: 1:17`33"
    size: 433 mb

    Fuzz Acid & Flowers:

    Country Joe and the Fish were the wittiest, most political and most reflective of the San Francisco 'acid' rock bands. The band's radicalism emanated mainly from Country Joe McDonald, who was born of leftish parents in El Monte, Caiifornia in 1942. His Christian name, Joe, was apparently after Joseph Stalin. Musically, his main influences were country and he wrote his first song I Seen A Rocket in support of a colleague's campaign for student presidency. In 1964 he made The Goodbye Blues (his first recording) with Blair Harriman. His first group was The Berkeley String Quartet. Then, with Barry Melton and Bruce Barthol he played in the 13-strong Instant Action Jug Band. The Rag Baby EPs were the first recordings credited to Country Joe and the Fish. They were released in 1965 on the Rag Baby label, Rag Baby was a left wing pamphlet magazine. The group, which was based in Berkeley, eventually developed and recorded their superb debut album Electric Music For The Mind And Body. Written to trip to, this was one of the classic albums of the period and contained a broad range of material. There was Not So Sweet Martha Lorraine, a song of social satire, drug songs like Flying High, Bass Strings and Section 43, a daring political skit Superbird and the closing love song Grace (presumably about Grace Slick of The Jefferson Airplane) was full of acid-inspired lyrics.

    I Feel Like I'm Fixin' To Die was also excellent including a more polished version of its title track; Janis, the beautiful love song McDonald wrote at the end of his romance with Janis Joplin; Eastem Jam, an electric instrumental with fine guitar interplay and Who Am I? which captures the band in more reflective mood. Also of interest were the drug-induced Thought Dream, the Bomb Song an anti-nuke anthem and the notorious Acid Commercial:-

    'Now if you're tired
    Or a bit run down
    Can't seem to get your feet off the ground
    Maybe you oughta try a little bit of LSD
    Only if you want to
    Shake your head and rattle your brain
    Make you act just a bit insane
    Give you all the psychic energy you need
    Eat flowers and kiss babies
    LSD..for you and me....
    (from Acid Commercial)

    Country Joe left The Fish after this album, getting married and recording a solo album. Barry Melton kept the band together either as The Fish or The Incredible Fish and individual band members wrote their own material. The band reformed a few months later as The Country Joe and The Fish Revue. Although nowhere near as good as their first two albums Together, which included the results of their individual enterprise still has some fine moments notably on An Untitled Protest- another anti-Vietnam protest song and The Streets Of Your Town and Bright Suburban Mr and Mrs Clean Machine which were both protests against their own environment. McDonald is still credited as one of the band on the album sleeve and he appeared on some of the tracks. During 1968 these were extensive personnel changes and as a result Here We Are Again was disappointing.

    They appeared at the Woodstock Festival on 21-24 August 1969, with a modified line-up, and performed their infamous Fish Cheer, but only McDonald and Melton now remained from their definitive line-up. They also appeared in Michael Wadleigh's full length movie of the festival in 1970. The same line-up recorded their CJ Fish album. After this the band disintegrated. Briefly in the mid-seventies the whole 1967 line-up reformed for a series of live gigs and the disappointing Reunion album.

    Barry Melton later recorded an album with Melton, Levy and The Dey Brothers.

    We're The Crackers and All I Need which don't seem to appear elsewhere are on the Zachariah soundtrack LP. Death Sound Blues from 1968 can be found on California Christmas, Vol. 1.

    Country Joe and the Fish were one of the best and most interesting of the late sixties San Francisco rock bands. Their first two albums remain classics of the genre.

    (Vernon Joynson/Stephane Rebeschini)

    01. Intro - Rock and Soul Music - Love 6:15
    02. Here I Go Again 4:42
    03. It's So Nice to Have Your Love 6:31
    04. Flying High 12:36
    05. Doctor Of Electricity 9:11
    06. Donovan's Reef Jam 38:17

    fileserve:  p1, p2
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2989 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 5
    5 joe   (17.11.2010 14:07) [Материал]
    that was quick


    4 olegelagin   (17.11.2010 10:05) [Материал]
    avatarjoe, reup

    3 joe   (16.11.2010 21:51) [Материал]
    part3 is 404

    2 vlad   (16.11.2010 20:26) [Материал]

    1 Anon   (08.10.2010 03:23) [Материал]
    Thanks, I'll upgrade sound quality with this post.

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads