R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 27 » Ergo Sum ~ 1972 ~ Mexico
    Ergo Sum ~ 1972 ~ Mexico
    genre: psych, zeuhl
    country: france
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans)
    time: 52'06"  size: 352 mb
    misc.: 2007
    Scented Gardens of the Mind:
    This important group, first known as Lemon Pie, was formed by Ledissez and Guerin in 1968. Their innovative blend of rock, jazz and other ingredients characteristically failed to attract French record companies, until Laurent Thibault recognised them as being really impressive in early 1971. At that time he was just about to launch his own label Thйlиme (distributed by Barclay) and offered the band recording time in the legendary Chateau d'Herrouville studio (whose famous clients have ranged from Elton John to Jethro Tull and Pink Floyd). Mexico (because Ledissez had lived there), became Thйlиme's first release, setting high standards from the outset. Ergo Sum had a really refined and tasteful sound with Ledissez's broken voice (reminiscent of Roger Chapman from Family and Alvarro Fella of Jumbo), Meynet's violin (quite similar to Dave Arbus of East Of Eden) and Guerin's chilling electric piano as their main forces. This was not 'progressive' in the sense of 'endless instrumentais', rather more like Traffic's song-based approximation (on their second album), characterised by impeccable musicianship and songwriting. Ergo Sum used English lyrics, which was most common before Ange strengthened bands' confidence in using French. The album Mexico is a classic and still a refreshing experience to hear today.

    Regretably the group only just survived into 1972, with Marc Perru (ex-Cruciferius) and Edouard Magnani replacing Leonardi and Touat. This line-up recorded a last single ('Tijuana"). Their last live engagement was performed by a different configuration, including Francois Breant (also ex-Cruciferius), Jean-My Truong (pre-Zao) and Marc Bertaux. Breant and Perru then formed a new group named Nemo.

    01. Night Road 3:07
    02. Unparalleled Embrace 2:50
    03. John's Nightmare 3:58
    04. Faces 6:33
    05. Second Rebirth 4:15
    06. Mexico 3:36
    07. I Know Your Mother 8:57
    08. Albion Impressions 4:57
    09. Lydie 1:00
    10. All's So Comic (Bonus Track) 6:07
    11. Tijuana (Bonus Track) 3:47
    12. It's Me (Bonus Track) 2:07
    13. Mexico (Instrumental) (Bonus Track) 0:54

    Tracks 1-10 et 13 (enregistred on august-september 1970):
    - Lionel Ledissez / vocals, percussion, sleigh bells
    - Jean Guérin / flute, Wurlitzer, Steinway, Rhodes piano, Hammond organ, whistling (1)
    - Michel Leonardi / electric & acoustic guitar, vocals (3)
    - Roland Meynet / violin, acoustic guitar (4)
    - Max Touat / bass, acoustic guitar (6 & 7), double-bass (4)
    - B.B. Brutus / drums, congas, maracas, percussion
    - Laurent Thibault as " El Tibo " / acoustic rhythm guitar
    - Dominique Blanc-Francart / moog (5)

    Tracks 11 et 12 (enregistred on january 1972):
    Lionel Ledissez, Jean Guérin, B.B. Brutus, Roland Meynet & Marc Perru / guitar, xylophone
    - Edouard Magnani / bass
    - Unknown musician / percussion

    depositfiles: p1, p2

    Online free casino: http://www.playmillion.com/
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3077 | Rating: 5.0/1

    Share |

    Total comments: 1
    1 frumpy   (29.05.2010 16:44) [Материал]
    Excellent album! Thanks!

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads