R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog


Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика musicaggregatorlogo Web Directory Subscribe

    Main » 2010 » May » 27

    genre: psych, zeuhl
    country: france
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, scans)
    time: 52'06"  size: 352 mb
    misc.: 2007
    Scented Gardens of the Mind:
    This important group, first known as Lemon Pie, was formed by Ledissez and Guerin in 1968. Their innovative blend of rock, jazz and other ingredients characteristically failed to attract French record companies, until Laurent Thibault recognised them as being really impressive in early 1971. At that time he was just about to launch his own label Thйlиme (distributed by Barclay) and offered the band recording time in the legendary Chateau d'Herrouville studio (whose famous clients have ranged from Elton John to Jethro Tull and Pink Floyd). Mexico (because Ledissez had lived there), became Thйlиme's first release, setting high standards from the outset. Ergo Sum had a really refined and tasteful sound with Ledissez's broken voice (reminiscent of Roger Chapman from Family and Alvarro Fella of Jumbo), Meynet's violin (quite similar to Dave Arbus of East Of Eden) and Guerin's chilling electric piano as their main forces. This was not 'progressive' in the sense of 'endless instrumentais', rather more like Traffic's song-based approximation (on their second album), characterised by impeccable musicianship and songwriting. Ergo Sum used English lyrics, which was most common before Ange strengthened bands' confidence in using French. The album Mexico is a classic and still a refreshing experience to hear today.

    Regretably the group only just survived into 1972, with Marc Perru (ex-Cruciferius) and Edouard Magnani replacing Leonardi and Touat. This line-up recorded a last single ('Tijuana"). Their last live engagement was performed by a different configuration, including Francois Breant (also ex-Cruciferius), Jean-My Truong (pre-Zao) and Marc Bertaux. Breant and Perru then formed a new group named Nemo.
    Views: 3160 | Date: 27.05.2010 | Rating: 5.0 | Comments (1)

    genre: prog
    country: germany
    quality: lossless (ape, cue, log, scans)
    time: 32'26"  size: 204 mb

    Crack in the Cosmic Egg:

    A late-1970's obscure progressive, Epidaurus had their footing firmly in the early-1970's progressive sound of bands like Pink Floyd, Eloy or Pulsar. Apparently Gьnther Henne ran his own Langendreer Studio (in Bochum), and thus with all the local talent around it was inevitable the a band would formulate out of the jam sessions that would regularly happen there. The record they released was totally self-financed, and barely distributed, hence its obscurity. In essence Epidaurus' largely instrumental multi-keyboard fronted blend was closer to Faithful Breath on their classic FADING BEAUTY, with a dreamy feel given by the haunting Mellotron and synthesizer textures, "cosmic" to want for a better term, but with one difference - the opening track has female vocals!

    Later, Epidaurus resurfaced under the name Choice, and more recently have reformed, attempting to cash-in on the interest generated by the CD reissue of EARTHLY PARADISE. But, be warned, ...ENDANGERED is abysmal pop styled rock, and is to be avoided at all costs!

    Views: 3397 | Date: 27.05.2010 | Rating: 5.0 | Comments (0)

    genre: beat
    country: australia/uk
    quality: lossless (ape, cue, log, scans)
    time: 1:08'36' "  size: 416 mb
    misc.: 2005

    01. River Deep, Mountain High 3:59
    02. Do You Have a Soul? 2:40
    03. Saturday Night 3:26
    04. You me, We Love 3:24
    05. Pretty Girl 2:18
    06. Friday on my Mind 2:43
    07. Happy is the Man 2:43
    08. Hound Dog 3:19
    09. Who'll Be the One? 2:38
    10. Made my Bed Gonna Lie in it 2:09
    11. Remember Sam 2:35
    12. See Line Woman 3:15
    13. Women (Make You Feel Alright) 2:36
    14. Do You Have a Soul? [long version] 3:00
    15. You me, We Love [different mix] 3:25
    16. Lisa [different mix] 3:14
    17. All Gone Boy [different mix] 2:32
    18. Friday on my Mind [mono single mix] 2:43
    19. Made my Bed Gonna Lie in it [mono single mix] 2:09
    20. Who'll Be the One? [mono single mix] 2:38
    21. Saturday Night [mono single mix] 3:26
    22. Heaven and Hell [mono single mix] 2:44
    23. Pretty Girl [mono single mix] 2:18
    24. Heaven and Hell [stereo mix] 2:43

    see also:

    Views: 2512 | Date: 27.05.2010 | Rating: 0.0 | Comments (0)

    genre: prog, folk
    country: uk
    quality: lossless (ape, cue, log, scans)
    time: 54'14"  size: 318 mb
    misc.: 2002

    01. Bradshaw The Bison Hunter 6:10
    02. Ain't Gotta Do You No Harm 2:58
    03. Get Happy 4:19
    04. Don't Be Afraid 4:19
    05. Man Said 2:20
    06. Song For No One 3:44
    07. Joe 3:36
    08. Nothin' To Do 3:23
    09. Road Song 2:23
    10. Home Blues 3:46
    2002 bonus:
    11. Jig-a-Jig 3:38
    12. Boogie Woogie Flu 3:21
    13. Last Dance of the Clown 3:51
    14. Sin City Girls 3:38
    15. All Our Yesterdays 2:48

    - Dave Arbus / violin, saxophone, flute
    - Jim Roche / guitar
    - David Jack / bass
    - Dave Weller / saxophone
    - Jeff Allen / drums

    Views: 3191 | Date: 27.05.2010 | Rating: 5.0 | Comments (0)

    genre: psych
    country: uk
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, booklet scans)
    time: 1:09'52"  size: 406 mb
    misc.: 2004

    Tapestry Of Delights:

    A 'progressive' band formed in Brighton in 1968 by violinist and multi-instrumentalist Dave Arbus. Their novelty hit with the instrumental Jig A Jig was completely untypical of their usual musical style, progressive rock with lots of hard rock guitar and Dave Arbus' wild violin work.

    The band were very popular in London's underground clubs. Their debut album came in an outstanding sleeve and was the best example of their Eastern-influenced rock. Guitarist/vocalist Nicholson left after this along with drummer Dufont and bassist York (who joined Manfred Mann's Chapter 3).

    Snafu veered more towards jazz-rock but was their most successful album commercially getting into the Top 30. It was also a big success on the Continent as was their Ramadhan 45.

    In 1970 they signed to Harvest but their first album for them was rather mundane having sacrificed their earlier Eastern influence for a country sound. New Leaf was slightly better and certainly the opening cut Bradshaw The Bison Hunter is worth a spin. After this Arbus quit though he later reappeared on Roger Daltrey's self-titled solo album. The band carried on replacing him with former Mushroom violinist Joe O'Donnell. This line-up recorded a couple of further albums which only appeared on the Continent before splitting up in 1978.

    Geoff Britton later played with Wings, whilst Joe O'Donnell made several solo albums in the seventies and eighties, many of which feature guest appearances by Rory Gallagher.

    Views: 3092 | Date: 27.05.2010 | Rating: 5.0 | Comments (1)

    Action: 10% disc1ount coupon14 for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: j16v917255n7tjh9af6odzgk7cjgwgg2

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads