R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 2 » High Tide - 2000 - Open Season
    High Tide - 2000 - Open Season
    genre: heavy prog
    country: uk
    quality : lossless (flac, cue, log, covers)
    time: 59'31" size: 487 mb
    misc.: compil. unreleased material

    Tapestry of Delights:
    Formed in 1969, High Tide were part of the wave of 'progressive underground' bands which grew up in Britain in the late sixties. Tony Hill had earlier played with The Misunderstood. Their albums, which were for the most part completely uncommercial, were characterised by elaborate, sometimes over-sophisticated guitar work. The band were more popular on the Continent than in Britain. The strongest tracks on the first album are arguably Walking Down Their Outlook and Pushed, But Not Forgotten, which has a beautiful, mellowed vocal intro. Futilist's Lament was also melodic whereas Missing Out and Nowhere were high energy 'wall of sound' instrumentals with a mesh of violin and guitar. Their second album was of a similar mould and comprised just three tracks; the 14 minute Saneonymous which accounts for the whole of side 2, the 8 minute Blankman Cries Again and The Joke, which lasts for over 9 minutes. All three are extended instrumental compositions with occasional vocal interludes. Despite their undoubted ability as musicians, High Tide's music lacked sufficient interest to attain wide recognition.


    As High Tide's albums had not sold well when originally issued, they had become quite difficult to obtain prior to their reissue.
    Simon House later played with Hawkwind and David Bowie. He also played with members of The Third Ear Band on the soundtrack to Roman Polanski's 'Macbeth'. Peter Pavli was later involved with House in several Hawkwind offshoot projects.
    Tony Hill also recorded a solo CD (on World Wide Records) and Maggie Bell released a single of the "Hazell" theme tune on Swan Song records in 1978.

    oe: great band forever ! recommennded!

    SIDE A (19:07)
    1. Open Season (Hill, 2000) (2:23)
    2. Unearthed (Hill, 1970) (4:19)
    3. Static in the attic (Hill, 1970) (2:23)
    4. The ballad of Norris Mill (Hill, 1970) (2:08)
    5. The great universal confidence trick (Hill, 1970) (7:54)
    SIDE B (15:56)
    6. Icarus Phoenix (Hill, 1971) (2:53)
    7. Unhinged (Hill, 1971) (4:27)
    8. All of one race (Hill, 1971) (3:07)
    9. Resonance (Hill, 1974) (5:29)
    SIDE C (23:51)
    10. Turn yourself down (Hill, Pavli, Tomlin, Theaker, 1990 (23:51)
    SIDE D (17:54)
    11. Light your torch (Hill, 1976) (5:13)
    12. Steady in E (Hill, 1976) (4:00)
    13. Garage Gods (Hill, House, Theaker, 1990) (6:29)
    14. Spindle (Pavli, 2000) (4:12)

    - Tony Hill / guitar
    - Simon House / violin
    - Pete Pavli / bass
    - Roger Hadden / drums
    - Drachen Theaker, Android Funnel & Dave Tomlin

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2785 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 1
    1 oparin19544825   (26.04.2017 21:34) [Материал]
    avatarPlease, re-up High Tide - 2000 - Open Season http://oldishpsychprog.ucoz.com/news/high_tide_2000_open_season/2010-05-02-1508

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads