R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » December » 6 » Link Wray ahd His Ray Men ~ 1963 ~ Jack The Ripper
    Link Wray ahd His Ray Men ~ 1963 ~ Jack The Ripper
    Link Wray ahd His Ray Men ~ 1963 ~ Jack The Ripper
    genre: psych surf
    country: us
    quality: lossless (flac, cue, log, cover)
    time: 46'05" size: 317 mb
    misc.: 1994
    Fuzz Acid & Flowers:
    Born in North Carolina in 1929, Link Wray is a guitarist and singer of Shawnee origin. He lost a lung during the Korea War and began playing guitar in the fifties. With the help of his brothers Vernon (aka Ray Vernon) and Doug, he formed Link Wray and His Ray-Men in 1958 and released two successful singles, Rumbleand Rawhide. In the early sixties he was one of the very first to test the fuzztone pedal and recorded several wild instrumental tracks who would be influential on many young guitarists. Always dressd in black, he also backed Bunker Hill on the frantic The Girl Can't Dance.
    He stopped recording between 1964 and 1970 and came back with an album recorded in his own studio, the Wray's Shack Three Track, build in Accokeek, Maryland. Link Wray is an interesting low-key effort which should interest fans of the Band at it sounds very sincere and rural, with mainly original material penned by Wray and Verroca plus a good cover of Willie Dixon's Tail Dragger. The next album is even better, with several acoustic tracks full of dobro and guitars combined with healthy boogie tunes (I'm So Glad) and indian influences and is really recommended. During the same period, Wray also produced the only album by Eggs Over Easy and one by Vernon Wray. Steve Verroca moved to England where he produced Brinsley Schwartz and Kevin Coyne. Also known as Bobby "The Kid" Howard with The British Walkers, Mordicai Jones released a solo album.

    The next album was recorded in San Francisco with Jerry GarciaPeter Kaukonen, Commander Cody, Greg Douglass (Country Weather), John McFee (Clover) and was produced by another Indian, Thomas Jefferson Kaye (White Cloud). With his background vocals and horn & string sections, it's not as good as the previous albums but nonetheless contains some good tracks (Walk Easy, Walk SlowMorning and the title track).
    The last album released in the time frame of this book benefited from long liner notes by Pete Townshend who always acknowledged the huge influence of Wrayon his guitar work. Produced by Bruce Steinberg and Skip Drinkwater, two blues producers, it's more rock oriented and contains one track dedicated to Duane Allman and a remake of his old hit Rumble. It was recorded with the support of Boz Scaggs, Bernie Krause (Beaver and Krause) and Pete Escovedo (Santana).
    Wray kept on recording during the seventies and early eighties and also supported Robert Gordon on his first albums, his guitar work still being really interesting and often very violent. Interested readers should check the sound quality of the various live recordings released by various European labels, as it's often very poor. ~ (Stephane Rebeschini)
    01. "Mr. Guitar" 2:36
    02. "My Beth" 2:16
    03. "Deacon Jones" 2:08
    04. "Steel Trap" 2:08
    05. "Cross Ties" 1:37
    06. "Jack The Ripper" 2:23
    07. "Fat Back" 2:43
    08. "Run Chicken Run" 1:49
    09. "Dinosaur" 2:12
    10. "Big Ben" 2:28
    11. "Mashed Potato Party" 2:13
    12. "Rumble" 2:28
    13. "Black Widow" 1:57
    14. "Good Rockin' Tonight" 2:52
    15. "I'll Do Anything For You" 2:23
    16. "Batman Theme" 2:01
    17. "Turnpike USA" 2:27
    18. "Ace of Spades" 2:17
    19. "Hidden Charms" 2:44
    20. "The Shadow Knows" 2:25
    DOUG WRAY drms, gtr
    LINK WRAY gtr, vcls
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3835 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 2
    2 agaga   (13.12.2010 22:53) [Материал]
    avatarThank you so much wink

    1 psychonaut   (06.12.2010 15:31) [Материал]
    Thanks, much appreciated! :-)

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads