R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 1 » Ruphus - 1973 - New Born Day
    Ruphus - 1973 - New Born Day
    Ruphus - 1973 - New Born Day Style: heavy prog
    Country: Norway
    Audio:lossless (ape, cue, log, covers)
    time: 47'34" Size: 280 mb
    Issue:1993 Pan Records

    RUPHUS is probably one of the most important 70’s Norwegian hard rock band with progressive tendencies (there were a few of those back then: AUNT MARY, TITANIC, POPOL VUH / ACE etc..) but their music evolution would differ greatly from those groups. Their debut "A New Born Day" is certainly one of the best Norwegian albums with a very exciting sound and its extraordinarily communicative enthusiasm, even if a bit dated. But three members left after the album release and a new singer was found for their second album "Ranshart", a more progressive record looking towards YES and FOCUS, but it was not quite as exciting as the debut. Future jazz-rock legend Terje Rypdal produced their third album "Let Your Light Shine", a jazz-rock album that had much success in Germany, but again, personnel change struck at the worst of times, but their fourth album "Inner Voice" continued the formula, but further changes undermined the group, eventually folding at the end of the decade to general indifference.
    RUPHUS’s discography is interesting to a few types of progheads from the more symphonic ones to the more fusional ones. ~ Hugues Chantraine
    01. Coloured Dreams 4:07
    02. Scientific Ways 6:02
    03. Still Alive 4:38
    04. The Man Who Started It All 5:31
    05. Trapped In A Game 6:09
    06. New Born Day 5:45
    07. Day After Tomorrow 8:52

    08. Flying Dutchman Fantasy 3:11
    09. Opening Theme 3:19

    Gudny Aspaas / lead vocals
    Thor Bendiksen / drums, percussion
    Hans Petter Danielsen / guitar
    Håkon Graf / organ, piano, vibes
    Kjell Larsen / guitar, flute
    Asle Nilsen / bass, flute
    Rune Sundby / acoustic guitar, saxophone, vocals

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 1942 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 2
    2 olegelagin   (02.08.2010 09:22) [Материал]
    avatarthanks, Dan, good review

    1 Dan   (02.08.2010 01:26) [Материал]
    avatarTerrific record, powerful, accomplished, exciting. Fantastic strong female vocals (as well as male vocals), bass has a great Chris Squire-like tone and approach. Yes, ELP, contemporaneous heavy rock, just a trace of psychedelia (and Airplane in the fem. vox) and other influences and a wide variety of moods integrated into a cohesive, unitive piece in which the band reveals its own distinctive and highly realized voice. If any of those qualities and touchstones sound good to you, I suggest you give this a listen!

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads