R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 2 » Spirogyra - 2000 - Burn The Bridges
    Spirogyra - 2000 - Burn The Bridges
    Spirogyra - 2000 - Burn The Bridgesgenre: folk, psych
    country: uk
    quality : lossless (ape, cue, log, scans)
    time: 1:02'22" size: 346 mb
    misc.: demo tapes '70/'71

    Tapestry of Delights:
    Starting as a quartet with Mattacks helping out, the group attributed much of the charm of their first album to the crystal voice of Gaskin, combined with the imaginative arrangements of Cusack and the strangely beautiful melodies of Cockerham. Too often, though, the latter sings his own songs, with a voice that is too strained to convince, preventing this album from becoming a psych-folk classic. Some excellent songs are present, though. The second album augments the sound with cello and mandolin and also gives more room to Gaskin's clarity of voice, but the material is less strong and although the good tracks are almost brilliant, the bad ones offer nothing but irritation. Somehow it all crystallises on the third album, where suddenly a wholeness is reached instead of the fragmentary former efforts. The atmosphere of sadness and despair, which permeated the first two albums as well, now becomes chillingly urgent, while the contribution of Lowther on trumpet works wonders, greatly so on The Furthest Point, a minor classic by itself. Unfortunately this album is very difficult to obtain. All three albums were also issued in Germany on Brain and are a bit less rare than their British counterparts. Definitely worth investigating.
    Barbara Gaskin later appeared with Hatfield and The North and National Health. She then enjoyed a hit as part of a duo with Dave Stewart (who'd also been in those bands) covering Lesley Gore's It's My Party. Dave Mattacks, was in Fairport Convention. ~ 
    (Marcel Koopman/Vernon Joynson/Mike Warth)
    01. Turn Again Lane 7:13
    02. Bring Me Back 3:05
    03. She's The One 3:31
    04. Nothing To Hide 2:38
    05. Where There's A Will There's A Way 4:06
    06. I Gotta Woman 2:44
    07. Counting The Cars 2:52
    08. We're Going Over 4:59
    09. Mackerels And Fishes 2:54
    10. Defender Of The Faith 4:13
    11. Hey Lady 3:01
    12. Sing It Simple 2:58
    13. The Forest Of Dean 4:28
    14. A Northern Lament 3:48
    15. Jerusalem 3:20
    16. I Hear You're Going Somewhere(Joe Really) 2:28
    17. Burn The Bridges 4:05

    Martin Cockerham / guitar, vocals
    Barbara Gaskin / vocals, piano
    Julian Cusack / violin, keyboards
    Steve Borrill / bass
    Stan Sulzman / flute
    John Boyce / cello
    Dave Mattacks / drums

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2110 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 2
    2 VICTOR GONZALEZ   (28.06.2011 21:26) [Материал]
    I like too much Spirogura, Thank yuo..

    1 dcwestie   (03.12.2010 06:30) [Материал]
    avatarThanks for the Spyrogyra. I'm having trouble downloading a working part 2 of Spyrogyra - Burn the Bridges from Filesonic. Any possibility of repairing the Depositfiles link. Thanks in advance

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads