R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » May » 27 » the Easybeats ~ 1968 ~ Friday On My Mind
    the Easybeats ~ 1968 ~ Friday On My Mind
    genre: beat
    country: australia/uk
    quality: lossless (ape, cue, log, scans)
    time: 1:08'36' "  size: 416 mb
    misc.: 2005

    01. River Deep, Mountain High 3:59
    02. Do You Have a Soul? 2:40
    03. Saturday Night 3:26
    04. You me, We Love 3:24
    05. Pretty Girl 2:18
    06. Friday on my Mind 2:43
    07. Happy is the Man 2:43
    08. Hound Dog 3:19
    09. Who'll Be the One? 2:38
    10. Made my Bed Gonna Lie in it 2:09
    11. Remember Sam 2:35
    12. See Line Woman 3:15
    13. Women (Make You Feel Alright) 2:36
    14. Do You Have a Soul? [long version] 3:00
    15. You me, We Love [different mix] 3:25
    16. Lisa [different mix] 3:14
    17. All Gone Boy [different mix] 2:32
    18. Friday on my Mind [mono single mix] 2:43
    19. Made my Bed Gonna Lie in it [mono single mix] 2:09
    20. Who'll Be the One? [mono single mix] 2:38
    21. Saturday Night [mono single mix] 3:26
    22. Heaven and Hell [mono single mix] 2:44
    23. Pretty Girl [mono single mix] 2:18
    24. Heaven and Hell [stereo mix] 2:43

    see also:

    Friday on My Mind, produced by Shel Talmy and recorded in England, captures the Easybeats at just about their peak, combining all of the best elements in the evolution of their sound under one cover. The Easybeats were still one of the most energetic outfits in rock music, with a raw, highly animated guitar attack, but they were trying (and largely succeeding with) ever more complex vocal harmony parts and some staccato guitar harmony as well that was pretty impressive, and at this stage they were working with a brace of gorgeous Harry Vanda/George Young originals. The ubiquitous title track is in excellent company, surrounded by an array of mid- to late-60's British rock treasures: a killer garage punk rendition of "River Deep, Mountain High," with a superb performance by Stevie Wright and what sounds almost like a sitar buried somewhere in the midst of the crisp electric guitars; "Do You Have a Soul," with its abrupt tempo changes, cascading choruses, chiming guitars, and hooks that seem to flow into each other effortless; "Saturday Night," with more sitar-like sounds beneath the radiant choruses and rhythm guitar hooks; the dramatic, angst-ridden "You Me, We Love," on which Vanda's guitar playing becomes as intense as Wright's wrenching vocal performance; "Pretty Girl," with its crunchy rhythm guitar sound and catchy lyric hooks and choruses; and "Made My Bed Gonna Lie in It," a punk anthem nearly as catchy and well-played as "I'm Not Like Everybody Else." Not everything on this album is as successful as these cuts, but it is all good listening, even the eerie, original album finale, "See Line Woman." In fact, only the rendition of Leiber and Stoller's "Hound Dog" may be out of place, and even it works as a change of pace. The label of "Australia's Beatles" may have proved an overstatement to some, but one can get a good look at its basis on this album -- it's loaded with actual and potential hit singles, yet it doesn't come off as lightweight in any way. ~ Bruce Eder

    sharingmatrix:  p1, p2 = depositfiles: p1p2
    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 2462 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 0
    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads