R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2014 » August » 29 » the Hollies ~ 1965 ~ Would You Believe
    the Hollies ~ 1965 ~ Would You Believe
    the Hollies ~ 1965 ~ Would You Believegenre: beat
    country: uk
    audio: lossless (ape, cue, log, covers, 168 mb)
    time: 30'41"

    Would You Believe? is an album by the Hollies, released in 1966. It features a cover of Simon and Garfunkel's "I Am a Rock," which displayed progression for the band at the time – the rising folk-rock nascent was on the horizon. However, Would You Believe also features a cover of Chuck Berry's "Sweet Little Sixteen" — by 1966, R&B and blues covers were becoming passé.
    Another sign of growth for the band on Would You Believe includes the Evie Sands cover, "I Can't Let Go", a major hit for the band.
    The band-written songs (under the pseudonym, "Ransford") are also considered to be among the more progressive tunes on the album: "Hard Hard Year", "Oriental Sadness", "Fifi the Flea" and "I've Got a Way of my Own". "Fifi", covered by the Everly Brothers (see the 1966 Two Yanks in England album), had lyrics outside of the band's norm; "Oriental Sadness" featured distinctly Asian-sounding chords; and "Hard Hard Year" and "I've Got a Way of My Own" (which had previously appeared on the B-Side of "If I Needed Someone") are both folky-sounding waltzes.
    This was the Hollies' last album with original bass player Eric Haydock, who took a leave of absence from the group after the American tour that followed the last recording session for the album, missing the recording session for the follow-up single "Bus Stop", and then either quit or was fired shortly after returning.

    side one    
    1.  "I Take What I Want" (David Porter, Mabon "Teenie" Hodges, Isaac Hayes)  Clarke  2:15
    2.  "Hard Hard Year" (Ransford)  Clarke  2:13
    3.  "That's How Strong My Love Is" (Roosevelt Jamison)  Clarke  2:42
    4.  "Sweet Little Sixteen" (Chuck Berry)  Clarke  2:21
    5.  "Oriental Sadness" (Ransford)  Clarke and Nash  2:37
    6.  "I Am a Rock" (Paul Simon)  Clarke  2:48

    Side two  
    7.  "Take Your Time" (Buddy Holly, Norman Petty)  Clarke  2:18
    8.  "Don't You Even Care" (Clint Ballard, Jr.)  Clarke  2:27
    9.  "Fifi the Flea" (Ransford)  Nash  2:05
    10.  "Stewball" (Bob Yellin, Ralph Rinzler, John Herald)  Clarke Nash and Hicks  3:05
    11.  "I've Got a Way of My Own" (Ransford)  Clarke and Nash  2:12
    12.  "I Can't Let Go" (Chip Taylor, Al Gorgoni)  Clarke and Nash  2:26

    Note: All songs written by the bandmembers Allan Clarke, Tony Hicks and Graham Nash were attributed to the pseudonym "Ransford"

    Allan Clarke – vocals, harmonica
    Bobby Elliott – drums
    Eric Haydock – bass guitar
    Tony Hicks – lead guitar, vocals
    Graham Nash – rhythm guitar, vocals

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 939 | Rating: 0.0/0

    Share |

    Total comments: 2
    2 bszg56   (28.11.2014 18:43) [Материал]
    avatarThanks Oleg for the re-up.

    1 bszg56   (24.11.2014 15:59) [Материал]
    avatarPlease re-up.

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads