R.I.P. of Oldish Psych & Prog blog

Global Searcher:
Site Content only Searcher

Login form
Friendly Sites
  • A Maquina de Faser Sonhos
  • A Pound for a Brown
  • Arlequins
  • Blue Mammoth
  • Boyz Make Noize
  • Culture for All
  • Electric Music for the Mind and Body
  • Deserter's Songs
  • 18 Rodas
  • HeavyPsychMan Blog
  • improshit
  • KMXT Free Form Radio
  • the List
  • Museo Rosenbach
  • Musiques
  • Old Melodies
  • Prog & Psych
  • Rock BlogRoll
  • Sam1957
  • Schnickschnack Mixmax
  • Silverado Rare Music
  • That was Music
  • Todoblog
  • When You Motor Away
  • Create your own site
  • Entries archive

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru Яндекс.Метрика

    Main » 2010 » April » 29 » the Strawbs - 1972 - Grave New World
    the Strawbs - 1972 - Grave New World
    The Strawbs - 1972 - Grave New Worldgenre: prog, folk
    country: uk
    quality : lossless (ape, cue+log+scans)
    time: 42'39" size: 276 mb
    issue: 1998 Remaster

    From ProgressiveRock :
    The Strawberry Hill Boys were a bluegrass trio founded by Dave Cousins, Tony Hooper and Ron Chesterman in 1967. Sandy Denny had a brief tenure in the band, recording one unreleased album before she quit to join Fairport Convention. In 1969 they shortened their name and landed a recording contract with A&M. The Strawbs recorded two early albums with production heavyweights Gus Dudgeon and Tony Visconti respectively. In 1970, Chesterman left and Cousins and Hooper added the rhythm section of John Ford and Richard Hudson. Session-keyboard wiz Rick Wakeman, recently extricated from the Royal Academy of Music, was next to join. His debut, Just A Collection of Antiques and Curios, was recorded live at London’s Queen Elizabeth Hall, however his role was really as soloist. The album managed to chart in the UK. Producer Visconti urged more electric influence to Cousin’s songwriting and the resulting From The Witchwood, though still reflecting the band’s folk roots, put the band again in the UK Top 40. By the time of Grave New World, Blue Weaver had replaced Wakeman. More importantly Cousins’ songwriting had gone Progressive, best demonstrated here in "Tomorrow" and "New World". The album ranges from the acoustic of "On Going Older" to the more eclectic rock of "Queen of Dreams". Cousins, too is a unique vocalist, his raspy voice not unlike Peter Gabriel. The album would become the bands best selling to date, reaching No. 11 in the UK. However, boosted by the single "Part Of The Union" at year’s end, their next album, Bursting At The Seams, proved to be their commercial peak. Hooper parted ways as the band drifted farther from their folk roots, with guitarist Dave Lambert replacing him. Cousins took the remainder of the year off to record a solo album, Two Weeks Last Summer. The Strawbs would continue with varying success until their demise in 1978.

    01 - Benedictus 4:25
    02 - Hey, Little Man... Thursday's Child 1:06
    03 - Queen Of Dreams 5:32
    04 - Heavy Disguise 2:53
    05 - New World 4:13
    06 - Hey, Little Man... Wednesday's Child 1:07
    07 - The Flower And The Young Man 4:18
    08 - Tomorrow 4:49
    09 - On Growing Older 1:56
    10 - Ah Me, Ah My 1:26
    11 - Is It Today, Lord? 3:08
    12 - The Journey's End 1:46

    13 - Here It Comes 2:44
    14 - I'm Going Home 3:16

    Blue Weaver (keyboards)
    Dave Cousins (vocals, guitar)
    John Ford (bass)
    Richard Hudson (drums)
    Tony Hooper (guitar, vocals)

    Sign up please for display Links
    Dear visitors, if you need the links are broken, please leave a request in the comments, I will try as much as possible to restore them for you

    Views: 3138 | Rating: 2.5/2

    Share |

    Total comments: 3
    3 philippelomb6   (05.05.2019 19:13) [Материал]
    thank you very much to repost because the link is dead !

    Philippe Lombard

    2 philippelomb6   (05.05.2019 19:10) [Материал]
    Great album of the psych folk proggers ! Rick Wakeman is gone but Bue Weaver (from Amen Corner) has a magical sound had (certainly, with also John Hawken the Strawbs have had a lot of exceptional keyboardists!).
    Some of the greatest tracks of the band are here with an incredible psych flavour like "The flower and the young man" or the strong anthem" New world" or the proggy "Tomorrow". Absolutely great and essential !!

    1 Anon   (18.09.2010 20:25) [Материал]
    Thanks a lot. Love this album so much.

    Only registered users can add comments.
    [ Registration | Login ]

    Action: 10% discount coupon for Depositfiles Gold accounts for 6 months and 1 year periods. The coupon is very simple in usage: you enter it on the Gold account payment page and after the prices are recalculated can buy an account with the discount.
    Your coupon: vkanhlm5uqib3uugw6aqifkcudbnzqej

    Oldish Psych & Prog offers progressive psychedelic rock music mp3 lossless downloads